Chapparada Avarekaayi (Broad Beans) Palya

I have no clue whatsoever what chapparada avarekaayi is called in English. I searched for quite a lot on the web, in some places it was broad beans and in some cases field beans. In the nearby Indian Store I brought this vegetable, it was called Papdi.

This vegetable is green, and broader than normal beans. This palya is prepared very often in my house because it is my husband’s as well as my favorite, especially when the lunch or dinner is just Rice & Sambar.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 lb Broad beans( Washed and finely chopped as shown below)
  2. 4 tsp freshly grated coconut
  3. 1 tsp cilantro for garnishing.
  4. 1 tsp oil, 1/2 tsp mustard seeds, 1/2 tsp urad dal, 1/2 tsp channa dal, pinch of hing, 1/2 tsp haldi, and 2 red chiilies
  5. Salt to taste.

Method:

Finely chop the broad beans as shown below.

Chopped Beans

Pressure cook the beans for 2 whistles with little water.

In a pan, heat oil. Add all the above ingredients like mustrad seeds, haldi, urad dal, chaana dal, hing, red chillies. Fry for a minute or two until the dals turn red.

Next, add the cooked beans. Fry for another few minutes. Add salt, coconut. In most Madhwa houses we add 1/2 tsp sugar or Jaggery to the playa at this point. But, its entirely optional. Garnish with Cilantro.

Chapparada Avarekaayi Palya

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lalitha Rao on December 27, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    That sounds yummi. I think it is called Italian green beans. In the Supermarkets you get fresh ones but very rarely . In the freezer section, you always get it. If I get it fresh, I make the Palya with palyada pudi, If I buy the frozen ones, I make “Huli” or “Sambar”. That tastes good too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on December 27, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Hi Aunty,
    I brought this vegetable from the Indian store. Ido sometimes make Kootu also with this.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anuradha on January 1, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Making little change for the same recipe above said you can prepare different taste. Fry red chilly and peanuts and make them powder and add it instead of coconut. It can also be had with hot Rice or chapathi.

    Reply

  4. Posted by meeraghu on January 1, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Hi Anuradha,
    That is also a nice option instead of coconut. I will try it next time. Thanks.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Latha on January 18, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Hi,
    It is called ‘Sheet beans’

    Reply

  6. [...] Broad Beans vegetable. Involves pressure cooking or microwaving the vegetable, and just a minute or two for the final [...]

    Reply

  7. Hi,
    It is called “cluster beans”

    Reply

  8. [...] This is yet another recipe prepared during all occasions. I had earlier posted the recipe for Broad Beans Palya. Just replace the broad beans with beans and you have another authentic dish. However, I will post [...]

    Reply

  9. Posted by Shubha Satish on April 4, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Hi ,
    I recently brought a handful of a new vegetable from Patel Bros.The label below read Green Valor.After I came home,I searched on Google but was not satisfied.Anyway,I proceeded to prepare beans curry and it came out good.The beans tasted exactly like chapparada avarekayi.Since the beans were quite old,I shelled it like peas & the outer portion chopped.I think it would be a good try when using the shelled peas in upma or saaru.
    Shubha Satish

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers

