Celebrate Earth Day with Green Indian Dishes

Tuesday, April 22nd 2008 is celebrated as Earth Day. So, my daughter was asking me what I would be able to cook on this wonderful day; by using very less resources and something green. So, I took a look at the recipes I have posted here in my blog, and I do have tons of green dishes which are quick, simple and should definitely use less resources.

So, here comes the list in no particular order:

1. Cucumber Kosambari. No cooking, no baking, no heating, so you save a lot of resources.

2. Spinach Paratha. Involves little bit of grinding and cooking on the tava. But, if you just make whatever is required it is a good option for the Earth day.

3. Broad Beans vegetable. Involves pressure cooking or microwaving the vegetable, and just a minute or two for the final touch.

4. Spinach Delight. Same as above.

5. Mint Pulav. Involves lot of work, but you can prepare a large batch and use it for 2-3 days.

6. Spicy Lassi. You just need to grind for 2-3 minutes and your Lassi is ready for Earth Day.

7. Dal Me Dill. Yet another green dish, which is full of nutrients and also requires just pressure cooking.

8. Spiced Creamy Rice. If you already have leftover rice, you can prepare this creamy rice in no time and by not using any resources at all.

I just chose 8 of the most earth friendly dishes I have in my blog, there are many more, surf around and enjoy.

Share your thoughts and your recipes, drop a line and let me know what you did to Save Mother Earth.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bobby green on April 20, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks for this post

    It was very informative and I found it very interesting!
    Thanks for this

    Reply

  2. So glad to discover your blog. I made Gojju Avallaki from your blog. It was great.

    Thanks again for sharing so many traditional recipes.

    Reply

  3. Posted by meeraghu on April 28, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Hi Kumuda,
    I am glad you liked Gojju Avallaki. Thanks for your comments.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sahana Gudi on April 28, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Hi Meera,

    I tried mint pulav, it turned-out very well.
    I am a regular viewer of ur blog n will be trying those traditional dishes. I wonder if you have the recipe of kalasanna da pudi. If so, please post it. I am residing at Sunnyvale CA.

    Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on April 28, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Hi Sahana,
    Yes, this recipe is so easy and turns out good each and every time. Sure, I will post the recipe for the pudi, BTW do you mean vangibath pudi?

    Reply

  6. Hi Meera. I’m a big fan of your blog.
    I was wondering if you could give me some recipes for breakfast. I would love if it can be done real quick since I’m a student and won’t have much time in the mornings.
    Moreover, it would be great if it can be packed in a lunch box for about 5 hours since I can’t eat out.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lalitha Rao on May 3, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Hi Meera,

    If anybody can let me know how to protect my “Sandiges” and “Happalas” from small black bugs, I woud thank them 100 times. If you have a solution or any of your blog friends have found out a way, pl. let me know. I would really appreciate it.

    Lalitha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,180 other followers

