One Year Anniversary – September 22nd 2008


Thank you all so much!

It is exactly one year since I started this blog. I have come a long way and really enjoy writing, and also sharing everything I know with you all. Many of you have become like close friends. Thanks so much for all the support and encouragement you all have provided. This blog wouldn’t be so popular if not for all your wonderful comments.

Some interesting statistics I found within my Dashboard:

  • 171 – Posts
  • 700 comments
  • Around 120,000 views
  • 25 categories
  • 22 tags.
13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sashi on September 22, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Meera,
    You have a wonderful blog here. I am a Madhva from Bangalore and find yout blog very interesting and informative. I do have a question for you. Am not sure if you have kids. If you do, how are you inculcating our culture in them here in the USA?
    Sashi

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on September 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Hi Sashi,
    Thanks for your comments. Yes, I do have a 16 year old daughter. She has been traveling with us since she was 4 from India, UAE and now here in the USA.

    The most important thing I feel is to practice what you preach. Kids learn from us, and we have to be an example for them as parents. And that’s what I have been doing. Even when she was a kid, I used to make sure she used to be with me when I was saying my prayers, doing special Poojas. This brought so much curiosity in her, that she kept asking about our culture, our religion, and so on.

    The same goes for food as well. Instead of bringing in religion, we kept telling that we don’t eat non-vegetarian since we didn’t want to harm any Animals, and that we have to treat them with compassion and so on and so forth. This in turn made her a strong vegetarian, and now she stands up to her class and talks about why it is beneficiary to be vegetarian as well.

    We preform all the festivals like anyone else does in India. We have never given any excuse for doing any of these Festivals in spite of having busy schedules. During each of these festivals, we tell the significance of the same and explained her everything we knew.

    I hope this answers your question.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lavanya on September 22, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Dear Meera,
    Congratulations!!!!!!
    Keep this good work going.Wish you and your family all the best.

    Lavanya

    Reply

  4. Posted by meeraghu on September 22, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Thanks, Lavanya. Thanks so much again.

    Reply

  5. Dear Meera,

    I am an avid follower of your blog.
    It is really informative and takes us back to our roots.
    Kudos to you and all that you do. I am a java programmer too and follow your other blog too.

    Best Wishes,
    Anu

    Reply

  6. Posted by meeraghu on September 23, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Hi Anu,
    Thanks for taking the time to comment. I am glad you are enjoying both, the personal as well as my professional blogs.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Shruti on September 23, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Hi Meera,

    Congratulations. Your blog is very informative. I hope you will keep posting many more interesting information in the coming year too. I wish you and your family all the very best.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Aruna on September 23, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Hi Meera:

    Congratulations on your first aniversary. I go to your website just about every night. I wish you were a little closer, geographically. I know we would have become good friends. By the way, my sister’s name is Meera too. Best wishes for your continued work.

    Aruna

    Reply

  9. Posted by meeraghu on September 24, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Hi Shruti, Aruna,
    Thanks for such nice comments. This web has brought so many new and wonderful friends for me. How I wish we could all meet one day?

    Thanks again.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Lalitha Rao on September 24, 2008 at 8:34 am

    Hi Meera,
    Congratulations. Keep up the good work. I read your blog to educate myself about everything not just to know about Madhwa culture and tradition. Good luck to you. I want you to go to Mysore and get all the recipes, household remedies and songs from Ma. Sharadamma but I also want you to stay here for the wedding.
    Love,Lalitha Aunty

    Reply

  11. Posted by meeraghu on September 24, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Thanks so much, Aunty. I sure will get all the recipes from Ajji. As far as the trip, I have yet no clue when I will be traveling. Hope to be there for the wedding as well.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Harini on October 3, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Hi Meera,
    Thanks for sharing all your authentic, tradional and easy to cook recipes with us. Your blog is informative and inspiring.
    Appreciate your time!
    Regards,
    Harini

    Reply

  13. Posted by meeraghu on October 4, 2008 at 6:53 am

    Thanks, Harini. I am glad the time I spend is helpful to so many.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,162 other followers

