Sweet Dosa in Minutes


I had mentioned last year about Sweet Dosa. I prepared the same yesterday for Saraswathi Pooja. So, here comes the recipe with minor changes and also pictures.

In a bowl mix 1 cup wheat flour, 1/2 cup rice flour, 1/2 cup maida. Add two cups of brown sugar, 4-5 tbsp coconut, and cardamom, and also cinnamon powder as desired. I also added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Make a batter as you do for Dosa. As shown below:

Heat a non stick pan, apply oil, and spread the dosa batter. When one side is done, turn over the other side as well.

P.S: I prepared a small batch, and it took me less than 20 minutes to prepare 11 dosas. I have a big non-stick pan, and was able to prepare 2 dosas at a time. The heat was medium.

The dosas were sweet, and you could feel the taste of cinnamon and also cardamom. Definitely good to eat once a year. :)

6 responses to this post.

  1. [...] My mom used to make Sweet dosa when we were little. Here is a recipe for the same. [...]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jagadeesha on October 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    This is a traditional dish, prepared every year on the Saraswathi Pooja day. We call that ‘EREYAPPA’ (at least in Bangalore-Mysore region; perhaps other regions have their own names). I remember, we used to wait a whole year and eagerly awaiting Dasara Sapthami day to relish this!…

    Reply

  3. Posted by meeraghu on October 11, 2008 at 7:08 am

    Thanks for reminding the name, I just couldn’t get the name at all.

    Reply

  4. Meera know what i made rava dosa today…..i made chutney in bulk but i finished up the whole batter today itself …..so was thinking of what to make for tomorrow’s bfast that goes along with the coconut chutney …..this would be easy and instant and moreover sth that i have never tried….i think this would taste just fine without sugar too…..thanks meera

    Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on October 12, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Yes, indeed. It is called Wheat Dosa. My grandmother used to do that. It sure tastes very well with coconut chutney.

    Thanks Raaji.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sushila on January 10, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Thank you very much for sharing these delicious Madhwa recipes. They in fact reminded me a lot of my parents. It is ages I was looking for these tasty recipes in USA. I am Madhwa and my mom used to make all these recipes. In fact my dad’s name was Hayagriva and he was proud of his name, his white horse and his dish when my mom used to make it for all of us. I will try to make them all one day If you have any more recipes please let me know.
    Thank You

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

