Sweet or Sihi Kootu

I have been asked by many visitors here to provide the recipe for Kootu. Last week, I finally decided to prepare the same. When I opened my diary which is dated back from 1985, I saw two recipes for Kootu given to me by my Mysore Ajji. One was called “Sihi Kootu or Sweet Kootu” and the other ” Kharada Kootu or Spicy Kootu“. For a change I decided to prepare the Sweet one and so here comes the recipe for the same.

Ingredients to grind:

  1. Urad dal or Uddina Bele –  1 tablespoon
  2. Whole Black pepper or Menasu – 10
  3. Raw Rice – 1 and 1/2 tablespoons
  4. Whole Red Chillies – 5 (use less than less spicy)
  5. Fresh or dry coconut – 5 tablespoons

P.S: 1 tablespoon = 3 teaspoons

Other Ingredients:

  1. 3 carrots
  2. 1/2 pound beans
  3. 2 big potatoes
  4. 2 coyotes
  5. 1 cup cooked toor dal
  6. 2 tea spoon jaggery, and 1/2 tsp turmeric.
  7. For seasoning :  Oil, mustard seeds, hing, groundnuts.

Method:

  • Fry all the ingredients mentioned in ingredients to grind. Once it is cooled, grind into a smooth paste.
  • Cook toor dal in pressure cooker. We need 1 cup here.
  • Cook all the vegetables also.
  • In a big vessel, mix the cooked dal, vegetables. Let the heat be on medium.
  • Add the ground paste.
  • Add salt, turmeric and also jaggery and mix well.
  • In a pan, heat oil. When the oil is hot, add mustard seeds, hing, groundnuts.
  • Add this to the dal, and vegetable mixture.
  • Let it boil for a few more minutes.
  • Serve with rice or chapathi.

Kootu

P.S: I will soon post the recipe for the Spicy Kootu also.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shachi on December 11, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Sihi Kootu looks delicious!! I am going to try this today!
    Thanks for posting Meera :)

    Thanks, Shachi.

    Reply

  2. Posted by shruthi on December 11, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Hi,

    It looks delicious… thanks for the recipe.
    Can u please post the recipe of Kaara Kootu…

    Yes, indeed. I am traveling to CA for the next 6 weeks starting from Monday for work, and will be back home just during New Year. It means no cooking, so I will post when I come back in 2009.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sanvitha on December 15, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Hey Meera,
    Just loved ur kootu recipe , looks delicious . I am preparing it today . My husband is great fan of vegetarian recipes especially kootu ,am looking forward for ur khara kootu recipe

    Thanks, Sanvitha. Khara Kootu can be prepared only when I come back home from California. I sure will do it.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lavanya on December 15, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Hi Meera,
    Thanks for the recipe.We make sihi kootu using same masala using hesarubele & chakota soppu and also without bele with sorekaayi. Wish you all a very happy new year.

    Lavanya

    Thanks, Lavanya. Yes, bele is an option. It is also done with snake gourd (Paduvala kayi) also.

    Reply

  5. Posted by vidya on January 14, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Hi Meera,
    Thanks for wonderful recipes,they are all mouth watering :)
    Thanks for sharing.
    Regards
    Vidya

    Reply

  6. Posted by poornima on July 21, 2009 at 1:22 am

    hi meera,

    Nice to view such websites which really tells unique quality of madhava people. I am also one among them .
    I have brought up into such traditional family. My mother also chants for around three to five hours from the time she gets up and completes all her house work. I used to sing along with her from childhood .

    I request you to update regarding forth coming events (festivals) and how to perform . usually pratices at different places are verymuch different ,so I was requesting for the procedure to perform nagarchauti and nagarapanchami.

    thanks and regards
    poornima

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sahana on July 29, 2009 at 1:58 am

    Hi Meera,

    This Sihi Kootu was excellent…..
    Could you please let us know the recipe for Khaarada Kootu?

    With Wram Regards,
    Sahana

    Hi Sahana. Thanks. As soon as I prepare Khaarada Kootu I will.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Bhavya on August 6, 2009 at 12:39 am

    thanks mam,

    yummy recepies……..

    Reply

  9. Posted by Divya on January 24, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Hi meera
    Can you please post spicy kootu recipe? By the way, your diary is a precious asset you have. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  10. Posted by vidyavenugopal puttaparti on January 26, 2011 at 9:51 am

    hi meeracould you post any other sri lakshmi songs for friday arthi in the evening. thank you
    vidyavenu

    Reply

  11. Posted by Ragini on April 16, 2011 at 10:43 am

    Hi Meera,

    Please post the recipe for Spicy Kootu. The Sihi kootu was delicious. And, is there anyway we could avoid coconut?

    Thanks, I love your website.

    Ragini.

    Reply

  12. Posted by sowmya on April 26, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Hi meera…….

    I m sowmya… I m staying in US… newly married… i m learing cooking by ur blog…. I m trying out all d madhwa recipes…… plz can u upload Khara kootu recipe also……..???????

    Reply

  13. […] has been almost 3 years since I posted the recipe for Sweet ot Sihi Kootu. Many of you asked for the recipe for Khara – Spicy Kootu. Even though I prepared this many […]

    Reply

  14. Posted by veda on January 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Hi,

    I am seeing this post now and I couldnt resist posting my Mysore Ajji’s version of sihi kootu.For some reason my ajji who would never shared her recipes with anyone including her daughter in laws but she shared this one with me in her last days. I am honoured to share her recipe where in Bele and red chillies are not added to sihi ootu and rest of the ingredients are same as you have mentioned.The sihi kootu become thick as Urad and raw rice is added……. And hence one of the dishes were Madhwas can avoid bele is this one!!!

    Thanks for rekindling those Ajji and Mammagala memories !!!

    -veda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,202 other followers

