Quick and Easy Yellu Bella

yellu

I had seen my Mom make Yellu Bella every year since I was a kid. I started making it only when we moved to Dubai. It is quite easy to make this during Sankranthi festival.

As you can see in the image above the ingredients you require are quite few and most are available at local Indian stores. I have seen many stores which have peanuts with skin removed and split into half as well. If not, you will have to fry them, remove the skin and cut them into half.

I use the following proportion to prepare the same:

  • 1/2 cup Yellu or Sesame Seeds
  • 1 cup Groundnuts or peanuts ( Fried, skin removed and cut into half)
  • 1 cup Dhalia or hurigadale
  • 1 cup finely chopped dry coconut
  • 1 cup Jaggery, finely chopped

Usually the Sesame seeds are cleaned, washed and dried. Later, they are fried.  I skip this step, and just fry the Sesame seeds for a few minutes.

Next, grate the black portion of the dry coconut. Chop them into squares as shown in the above picture. Chop the Jaggery also and make sure they are dry. My mom used to keep it in the sun for a few days.

Mix, all the ingredients together.  Distrubute to your family and friends. If all the ingredients are dry, it will stay for months.

15 responses to this post.

  1. preparing sakkare acchu was fun during my school days. apparently it was hard to find sugar in pure white late dec / early jan. I remember we used to stock up sugar several months before sankranti. :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Venkatesh Rao on January 14, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Yellarigu Sankranti Habbada Shubhashayagalu !!

    I made Yellu today. It was not perfect since the Jaggery that I got was not as dry as it should have been. It simply gave way while cutting it.
    But nevertheless, the yellu bella turned out to be good.

    Reply

  3. Hi Meera,

    HAPPY SANKARANTI! Tell us how the kannadigas in your place celebrated the three day festival. If you have snaps of rangoli or any cultural programme plz share with us.
    have a gr8 day
    rekha

    Reply

  4. Posted by veda on January 8, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    hello meera,

    when I was searching for yellu-bella on google, i came accross ur web-site. I saw other yummy reciepes and stothras, songs, etc. and I reall appreciate u for this. I think ur hubby is very luck to have a very talented and wonderful wife as u.

    I sure will try yellu-bella and let u know how it came out. thanku u so much

    regards
    veda

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on January 8, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      Veda,
      Thanks so much for your wonderful comments. Appreciate it very much. Making yellu bella is really simple. No baking, no cooking, no frying.

      Reply

  5. Posted by veda on January 11, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I prepared yellu today and it has come out really great, thank u so much meera.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on January 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      Awesome, Veda. I brought all the ingredients yesterday, will have to prepare it either tomorrow or day after.

      Reply

  6. we don’t have sakkare achchu (templates?) here, any creative ideas to prepare sakkare acchu? someone here tried cookie cutter / plates, but didn’t turn out well..

    Reply

  7. Posted by Sandhya Krishna on January 12, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Hi Meera,

    Nimma Blog nalli, I have got tons to learn, me being a Bramin i just dont know any thing… Any ways Thanks to you I can learn lots & Teach my daughter aswell.

    Reply

  8. Posted by meeraghu on January 12, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    Hi Sandhya,
    Take your time. I am glad you are able to learn from this blog. Makes me feel so happy.

    Reply

  9. Posted by veda on January 13, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Nimagu nimma kutumbadavarigu SANKRANTHI HABBADA SHUBHASHAYAGALU Meera.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on January 14, 2010 at 9:04 am

      Veda,
      Thanks so much for the wishes. Nimagu mathu nimma maneyavarelarigu shankranthi habbada shubhashayagalu.

      Reply

  10. Posted by jagadeesh patil on January 15, 2010 at 2:18 am

    Hi
    Meera, HAPPY SANKARANTI , i came accross ur web-site. I saw other yummy reciepes and stothras, songs, etc,i saw ur snap and came to known that i had seen u when i was in my primary school in SSBJ and my parents use to give example of you & ur sister suma..
    How is subbarao sir by the way I am jagadeesh patil son of S P Patil SSBJP.

    Reply

  11. Posted by meeraghu on January 15, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Hi Jagadeesh,
    Happy Sankrathi to you as well. I do remember you. We are all doing good. My dad is in Bangalore. Suma is staying very close to me, around 10 miles from my place here in Maryland.

    How are your parents and your Sister? Please convey my Namaskaras to your parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,047 other followers

