Varava Kode Thayi

Very popular song on Goddess Lakshmi. This is sung on Fridays, Shravana Masa Lakshmi pooje, Gauri Pooje and so on.. I am not sure about the tune, I will post it on youtube when I find the right one. I will also post the lyrics in English soon as well.

P.S: This song was in my draft for several months, almost from Shravana Masa last year. The digital camera we had has broken, we need to send it for repair( just after all the pictures were taken for the Gruhapravesha function). That’s why there are no posts on any food items.

Rekha, who visits this site regularly says that her Mother-in-law used to sing these additional 3 stanzas of this song. Thanks Rekha for sharing the same.

Maadiya maneyolage jodu tottila katti jogula haaduvantha vaarava kode.
Astaiswarya soubhagya needutale,varava kodale taaye varava kode.
Kattida maangalya kariya manisara stiravaage iruvantha varava kode.
31 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ritha Kulkarni on March 30, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Hi, My mother-in-law and one of my aunts used to sing this song on Fridays and in shravana maasa, I know the tune for this song, very simple, but dunno how i can send it to you.
    Anyways nice site you have here, keep up the good work

    Ritha

    Ritha, you can either send me the link to youtube, or just send whatever format you have to my email: . I will post t here with due credits to you, your MIL and Aunts.

    Reply

  2. Posted by rekha karnam srinivasan on April 2, 2009 at 4:59 am

    hi meeraji,
    I must appreciate songs on utube esp,vande vandhyam of madwacharya.it made horripilated.again i enjoy all posts usually .Iam more interested in recipes.I want to know the ingredients of “aaralina sandige”and “sabbakki happala”.please post it as soon as possible as its summer now.
    thanks, rekha sri

    Reply

  3. Posted by vidya on April 2, 2009 at 10:08 am

    thank you for posting the song

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kavitha GuruRaghavendran on April 3, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Meera,

    I want to add the lyrics which I know from my Amma

    ” Malige Maneyalli Jodu Thotilla Katti Jpgula Paduvantha Varava Kode!!

    Belagre Badavarna Karedhu Mrusttannavu Thili Neeru Koduvantha Varava Kode!!

    Hombanna Arisina Holeyo Kariyamani Hore Hore Horeyuvantha Varava Kode

    Maavele Thorana Munji Maduve Namakarana Yaavagulaguvantha Varava Kode!!”

    Thanks.

    Kavitha, thanks so much. I will add it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rajesh on March 10, 2010 at 12:16 am

    where can i get this song?????

    Reply

  6. Hai,
    Thanks for providing additional 3 stanzas of the above song. They are very meaningful.
    Please let me know if any new lakshmi songs are there with you. I so,please provide the songs in your blog. From the day I came to know about your blog, I am spending atleast two hours to get the required information.
    Thank you very much.
    usha

    Reply

  7. Posted by Subhash Kukarni on August 23, 2010 at 3:59 am

    A different stanza of this (from my mom)

    Arisina kumkuma araLu mallige davana
    Sthiravage iruvantha varava kode thayi varava kode

    Kattidda maangalya karimaNi gaajina baLe
    Sthiravage iruvantha varava kode thayi varava kode

    Reply

    • Posted by Pramila Rao on December 13, 2010 at 3:59 am

      Hi, exactly this particular song i’m looking for. Please help me to get few more stanzas added to this song. There is a 3rd stanza added to this is – maalige maneya katti, jodu thottila haki, jogula hadavantha varava kode…. (learnt from my mom)

      Reply

  8. Posted by meeraghu on August 24, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Thanks so much.

    Reply

    • Posted by Nalini Kulkarni on October 3, 2014 at 4:07 pm

      Hello Meera avre, I have just looked at this site. I feel blessed. Thank you. However, we can give you huge compilation of songs that my mother in law sings. She sings all these and much more. How do I send audios to you? Which format? Feel free to email me directly if you wish , because I think people will benefit with the bhajanes that Amma sings. Thanks.

      Reply

      • Posted by meeraghu on October 3, 2014 at 6:11 pm

        Nalini,
        I have sent an email. Share with me all the audio, if you can post it to youtube, that is also great.

  9. Posted by Aarthi Jois on August 28, 2010 at 9:36 am

    This is a great service you have done. Do you have the script in English? It will bevery helpful and a service if you can post this in English script…Thanks,Aarthi Jois

    Reply

  10. Posted by Geeta Vedanti on October 9, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Hare Krishna,
    This is a beutiful very femanine song. I would like to know the composer of this song. Thank you
    gv

    Reply

  11. Posted by meeraghu on October 11, 2010 at 8:01 am

    No idea, Geeta.

    Reply

  12. Posted by srividhyasrinivasan on November 29, 2010 at 8:28 am

    i want lyrics for lakshmi rave maa intiki, please send anyone in english or tamil language.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Praveen on August 4, 2011 at 8:44 am

    Can you please post the complete song in English. Thanks

    Reply

  14. Posted by Madhura on February 21, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Hi, I sing this song in all gowri & Lakshmi poojas. So I am sending you the song as I sing in English:

    Varava kode tayi varava kode
    Siriyu sampatteradu sthiravaagi iruvantha ||varava kode ||

    Balegondarishina holeva karimani
    anugaala iruvantha varava kode
    anugaala brahmana karedu mrushthannava
    tilineeru koduvantha varava kodamma thaayi varava kode||1||

    Maaligi maneyolu jodu tottilu katti
    jogula paaduvantha varava kode
    bagilige torana maduve munji namakarana
    yaavagaliruvantha varava kodamma taayi varava kode ||2||

    Hennu makkalan hadedu honna seragile katti
    kanyadana maduvantha varava kode
    kanyadana annadana godana bhoodana
    gruhadana maduvantha varava kodamma taayi varava kode ||3||

    Gandu makkalan hadedu bindige honna tumbi
    andanaveruvantha varava kode
    banda brahmanariganandadi bhojana
    undundu danivantha varava kodamma taayi varava kode ||4||

    Halu haraviyagi keeladi sharanembe
    yavagaliruvantha varava kode
    shalyanna sughruta panchabhakshya paramanna
    naivedyakkiduvantha varava kodamma taayi varava kode ||5||

    Siriyu sampatteradu sthiravagi iruvantha varava kode taayi varava kode||

    *******

    Reply

  15. This site is just fabulous…great help for people who are unable to read kanada..thank you..may God bless u

    Reply

  16. Hi Meera !!!

    Thanks a lot for this blog… indeed very thoughtful… i am very grateful to you.. i got so many lost forgotten songs lyrics and am catching up now again…

    I cudnt find the audio for this song anywhere.. not sure how is this song sung??? any idea where can i find??

    Happy ganesh chaturthi!!!

    Reply

  17. please upload song

    Reply

  18. Posted by Malathi on July 4, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Thankyou for the lyrics my grandmother used to sing this song

    Reply

  19. Posted by Bhavana on September 11, 2013 at 12:51 am

    Can anybody share the tune of this song?

    Reply

  20. Posted by Shailaja Anand on January 12, 2014 at 2:20 am

    i want the lyrics of rangana ranige manjula venige anganigharbada bayakegalu . can anyone help me

    Reply

  21. Posted by satya on July 19, 2014 at 2:30 am

    Can any one send me the audio of Varava kode tayi varava kode to
    snrao1228@gmail.com?

    Reply

  22. Posted by shweta on July 23, 2014 at 11:14 am

    very nice song.. can anyone pls send the audio link.. ?

    Reply

  23. Posted by Aparna on July 25, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Hi,Can anyone upload audio link of varava kode thayi

    Reply

  24. Posted by Neha on August 1, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    Hi Meera,
    Can you email me the audio to this song please??
    I know only the starting 2 lines of this song. My grandma used to sing it..
    I would really appreciate it!

    (neha.karnam@gmail.com)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,180 other followers

