Sri Sushameendra Teertha Swamiji of Mantralaya

If you have visited Mantralaya in Andhra Pradesh, than you would have definitely seen the senior swamiji also called the peethadipathi of Sri Raghavendra Swamy Mutt Sri Sushameendra Teertha Swamiji. When I visited Mantralaya during many of my visits to India, we used to go to the room where the Swamiji used to give Phala Mantrakshate to everyone and seek his blessings.

Just today morning, I received an email from my Sisten-in-law Radha who sent me the links to a picasa web album which had the title Sri Sushameendra Teertha’s Vrindavana Pravesha.

I had no clue what had happened, and when I went to the web and serached for his name found out that the Swamiji was no more. I should mention that my Grandmother(Mysore Ajji) knew Swamiji personally.

I felt a deep pain in my heart especially after seeing the pictures.

Attached below is a link to the Picasa Web Album which shows the picture of Swamiji.

OM SHRI RAGHAVENDRAYA NAMAHA.

P.S: These pictures were posted by Raghunandana of SRSMUTT. I am just providing the links here. Thanks to Mr. Raghunandana and SRSMUTT.


38 responses to this post.

  1. My brother, Sri P N Srinivasa Rao was serving the Mutt for a long time. I thought I recognised him in one of the pictures in the album offering his respects at the Brindavana of the Swamiji. Thanks for the pictures.

    Reply

  2. Posted by RANGARAJAN on April 12, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks a tonne for sharing the pictures. I went to Manthralaya in the end of January and saw sushameendra theertharu once. I had the last darshan of swamiji, oceans away sitting in Canada only because of you. May God bless you for this great help of yours.

    Regards,
    Ranga

    Reply

  3. I was fortunate to go to Mantralaya last year and perform pooja and get the blessings from him before coming to Uganda.
    Thanks for the pictures.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kishore reddy on April 14, 2009 at 7:55 am

    sir / madam,

    i sincerely thankful to which the photographs has posted to the site.

    – KISHORE REDDY,
    Hyderabad.

    Reply

    • Posted by PARTHASARATHY on May 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

      The sentence could have been correct had it been written as
      “I SINCERELY THANK THE PERSON WHO HAS POSTED THE PHOTOGRAPHS ON THIS SITE’ or “I AM SINCERELY THANKFUL TO THE THE PERSON WHO HAS POSTED THE PHOTOGRAPHS ON THIS SITE”.

      Reply

      • Posted by meeraghu on May 11, 2011 at 7:53 pm

        This blog is not for English professors. So,please don’t try to correct anyone.

  5. Posted by N.RAMA KRISHNA on April 14, 2009 at 9:53 am

    The entire fraternity of believers of Sri Raghavendra are indebted to
    Mr. Raghunandana’s contribution of photographs of vrindavana pravesa of
    Sri Sushameendra yatiraj.Even though several followers were unable to witness the painful inevitable event, they still had the opportunity to have a look at the final mortal journey of an IMMORTAL SAINT of modern times.
    I sincerely believe that like Sri Raghavendra ,Sri Sushameendra swamy too will eternally guide us to cross the BHAVASAAGARA.
    with regards
    -N.RAMA KRISHNA

    Reply

  6. Posted by priyanka on April 16, 2009 at 12:41 am

    our family is great devote of sri guru ragavendhra.. we a a family as met swamiji personally and got his blessings.
    we were in mantralayam from mar 28 to apr 2 . we were trying to meet sushameendra teertha swamiji. but they told that swamiji is out station.
    its really a big shock when i heared this news but still swamiji lives in our hearts..thank you for the photos.
    moola ramo vijayathe..
    sri guru rajo vijayathe.
    guruve saranam. guru ragaventheraya namah.

    Reply

  7. Posted by G.Parthasarathy on April 16, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Bhavachithragalanna web nalli noduva bhagya labhisidhdhu nanna punya endhu bhaavisuththene. bhavachithragalannu web-nalli nodalu avakaasha madikottadhdhakke hruthpoorvaka kruthajnathegalu.

    Sree Guru Raghavendraya Namaha.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Dr. T.P. Sastry on April 17, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Sri Sushameendra Teertha Swamiji is very kind by look, like a father figure, can not forget Him in my life time. His divine face is unforgettable. He has attained the place next to Pujya Guruji. My Family is deeply hurt, no words

    Reply

  9. Posted by Giridhar Mukund on April 17, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    We are the great devotees of Sri Guru Raghavendra Swamy. Our family has met Sushameendra swamiji personally and got his blessings many times.
    We belive that Sushameendra theertharu was avathara of Sri Guru Raghavendera Swamy. We miss him a lot.
    Thanks for sharing the photos.
    Hari Sarvothama Vayu Geevothama
    Giridhar & Family
    New Zealand.

    Reply

  10. An exclusive programme about H.H. Sri Sushameendra Teertha Swamiji is getting telecasted tomorrow i.e 19.04.2009 at 8.30 AM on E TV Kannada. The programme covers some portions of Vrindavana Pravesha as well.

    Reply

  11. Posted by K N Shivananja on April 20, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Swamji is great, Our family is blessed by him. Good things has happened when we took his blessings. He is like our father. My family is deeply hurt. Thanks for sharing the photos.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Guruprasad Nagarajan on April 22, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Meera Ji,

    My sister told me about your blogs today and it is really good. I stay Gaithersburg, Maryland. Please let us know if there are any upcoming madhwa events in DC area.

    I appreciate your good work.

    Thanks Guruprasad. I will let you know when I have any information. BTW, have you visited the SSVT Temple?

    Reply

    • Posted by Guruprasad Nagarajan on July 27, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      Are there any raghavendra swamy aradhaney celebrations around Gaithersburg MD / DC area?

      Reply

  13. Posted by krishnamurthy on April 24, 2009 at 5:21 am

    Thanks for the album on Poojyashree Sushameendra Theertha Sreepadangalavaru. Our namaskara at the lotus feet of Swamiji. His Holiness’ blessings during our holy darshan of Swamiji at Mantralaya will be with us and guide us. Such blessings are, in my opinion, attributed to punyaas done by us in many of our previous births. Om Sri Raghavendraya Namah.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Venkatesh on April 27, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Om Sri Raghavendraya Namaha. Thanks for the photos. My sister and B-I-L were in mantralayam last week and I got this news.

    Reply

  15. Posted by sita on April 30, 2009 at 3:52 am

    Can you please give me the link for the song “marulu maadi kondeyalle maya deviye” (dasara pada ) sung by Shri Vidyabhushana, i have heard this song about 12yrs ago, but would like to hear it again, unable to find a link , please help

    Sita, I don’t remember hearing this song at all. But, I will check and see if I have the same.

    Reply

  16. When you provide links on your blog, please ensure you do mention the source, these pics were posted by Raghunandana of SRSMUTT. Also i see that there are ads about advaita on your site that talks about dvaita scholars due to your GOOGLE revenue stream.

    Sure, I will. However, I have no google revenue stream. I am not sure I understand what you are talking about.

    Reply

    • Posted by Raghunandana on May 5, 2009 at 9:17 am

      Google revenue stream is nothing but Google Ads column of the webpage. As it is based purely upon the Hindu Key words, all spiritual items irrespective of philosophy will get displayed. One fine day it displays some Aghora and Tantric ads as well. :)

      Reply

  17. Posted by Ram on May 4, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Thanks a lot for posting the pictures of Sri Sri Sushameendra Theertha Sreepadangalavaru. Hari Sarvothama Vayu Jeevothama

    Reply

  18. Posted by Sulakshana on May 5, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Namaskara,
    Our whole family is devotee of Shri Raghavendra Swamy.
    Shri Sushmeendra Swamiji was really close to our family. They visited many times to our house in Bangalore.
    I was blessed by them many times and i am so lucky that i was blessed by them when i was pregnant.
    You belive it or not my son was born the day when Raghavendra Swamiji was born.
    Really, thanks a lot for sharing photos. I was so disappointed by hearing the sad news but after seeing these photos only because of you i m feeling really lucky.
    Thanks for sharing. Please keep in touch with me personally.
    We leave in Sweden.

    Reply

  19. Posted by meeraghu on May 5, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Hi Sulakshana,
    Congrats on your new born. BTW, what did you name your son? Sure, we can keep in touch, and thanks so much for the comments.

    Reply

    • Posted by Sulakshana on May 15, 2009 at 9:45 am

      Hi,
      Thanks for your response… b’coz you may be receiving lots of comments and answering for all those means a lot.
      So, thanks my son’s name is PAVAMAN…synonym of hanuman..
      Bye…

      Sulakshana, that’s a very nice name. Thanks for sharing.

      Reply

  20. Posted by Latha on May 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing the pictures. Felt very sad when we heard this news. At least we had a chance of last darshan because of the pictures.My whole family especially my maternal uncle was very close to shri.Swamiji and fortunately he was in Mantralaya that day.

    I have sent the link to all my cousins .Thanks again.

    We live in Greenville, South Carolina.

    Reply

    • Posted by Shreekrishna on July 25, 2011 at 8:08 am

      Smt. Latha,
      With the help of Google, and Smt. Meera’s blog, I chanced to know that you live in Greenville, South Carolina. I’m going to be moving to Greenville in a couple of weeks for work. I wanted to know if you knew of any Madhwas there (I know of one). Would love to catch up. Please send me an email if you’re still in Greenville and would want to get in touch – sumadhwavijaya [AT] gmail [DOT] com.

      Smt. Meera avare,
      Hope you don’t mind my using this space for this purpose. I’m moving to a new city and from a cove of 5 years of friends and network. Thanks for this platform!

      Shreekrishna

      Reply

  21. Posted by prasanna on June 2, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Sri sushameendra theertha swamiji is second rayaru he was my god father after rayaru i think it was the grest blessing which god gifted to meet him.

    Reply

  22. Posted by Mrs.kannan on December 30, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Thanks a lot Sharing these photographs. I have been going to Mantralaya from my childhood and seen Swamiji from then. Around 11 P.M he use to walk around the prahara with kid gurukuls. He use to chat with them and walk so fast and they use to enjoy his compnay. I have seen lots of development and improvement in Matralaya in his time. Im sure Rayar wanted Swamigal with him now. Cant even think of the fact that i wont be able to see him in my next visit to Mantralayam. Swamiji, where ever you are, bless us and now you are lucky to be next to Rayar and tell him about all of us. Take care. We miss u so much.

    Reply

  23. Posted by shankar on March 4, 2010 at 9:00 am

    i need sri susmendra pictures

    Reply

  24. Posted by Raghu on April 29, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Hi,
    Good article on Guruji.
    My upanayana was done in Manthralaya in 1994. After the ceremony was completed the priest there told me to take blessings from Guruji. So I went to his room which was just behind the ceremonial hall. A few people were accompanied nearby him and I was a bit hesitant to go near to him. Since most of such people dont allow people to touch their feets and my obersavation in Madhwa mutts are they give much importance to Maadi. I just prayed in my mind and imagined that I’m touching his feets and fell Shastanga Namaskara, all people around him were instructing me to be a far (doora doora). I simply smiled and did my namaskara, I guess my good karma or belssing of my tatha(Raghavendra) that Guruji himself touched my head and blessed and gifted me a cotton shalya, which I still preserved and unused.
    Really when he touched my head and blessed the people around him were stunned and just looking at us. The priest later told me that may be I am a lucky and have some good karma so i had this opportunity. Really my whole life changed since that day, completely changed.

    Also I would like to bring something in notice to you, have you oberved his chest? I feel like Lord Narasimha like figure was emerging there. It could be my imaginary, however have a see :)

    Regs
    Raghavendra, Bengaluru

    Reply

  25. Posted by meeraghu on April 29, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Very interesting. Thanks so much for sharing the same.

    Reply

  26. Posted by Shubha Satish on July 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Hi Meera,
    Once again yesterday I was wishing to go to Mantralaya & Tirupati,and am very happy to see this post,pictures of Sri Srinivasa, Mantralaya and Swamiji as an answer from Lord Srinivasa, & Sri Raghavendara Swami.
    After seeing the pics and reading the post,I have got back my peace of mind & very happy.Thanks a ton!!!
    Regards,
    Shubha

    Reply

  27. Posted by Mukkundi Raghavendra Prahlad on August 5, 2010 at 3:30 am

    Hi to all,
    When His Holiness Sri Sushameendraru made His Holy exit, i was there in Bengaluru. By the time i came to terms to this utter shock, already His holy body was taken to Mantralalya. Hence, i couldn’t had his last darshan but i was fortunate just before a month of his passing away i had His Holiness’s darshan and was part of the member singing the ‘devaranama’ along with two of my friends in Bengaluru. And His Holiness rewarded me with Rs 50/- for taking part of singing the devaranama though i just acted like a chorus. And I still preserve the Rs 50 note given by His Holiness. We all miss Sri Sushameendra Swamiji, but his divine presence will be there surely for all of us…

    M R Prahlaada

    Reply

  28. Posted by shubha on August 20, 2010 at 3:31 am

    Hi, I am a new member to this log and it has been very useful!!

    Long back sita had asked for the song- ‘Marulu maadi kondeyelle’ by Purandara dasaru. Here is the Lyrics of this song if she hasn’t found it yet…..

    marulu maadikondeyalle maayaadeviye

    marulu maadikondeyalle maayaadeviye
    irulu hagalu ekavaagi hariyu ninna bidadippadanthe

    jnaanigalu nitya anna paanaadigalannu bittu
    naanaa vidha tapaviddaru dhyanakke silukadavana

    sarvasanghavannu bittu sanyasiyaada kaalakku
    sarvada tannedeyamele bidade ninna dharisippante

    pralayakaaladalli aaladeleyamele malagiddaga
    halavu aabharanangalu jalavu aagi jaanatanadi

    ranganu bhoolokadi bhujangagiriyolalamelu
    mangapatiyaagi ninna angeekarisuvante

    makkala padedare ninna chokkatanavu popudendu
    pokkulolu makkala padedu kakkulaathipaduvante

    edake bhumi balake shriyu eduralli durgadevi
    thodeyamele lakumiyaagi bidade muddadisuvanante

    endendigoo mareye ninnaanandadi janarigella
    thandhu thore swaadheena purandaravitalaraayana

    Regards,
    Shubha

    Reply

  29. very interesting,thanks so much sharing the same& i need sushmendra swamy phots

    Reply

  30. Thanks a lot for sharing the photos of Sri Sushameendra Swamy photos. I posted my comments two days back, but I found missing here. Anyway those who were visited/are visited/are to be visited will get blessings of Sri Sushameendra. So all credits goes to Meera who has been organizing the site very good manner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,090 other followers

