Akshaya Tritiya – April 27th 2009

Akshaya Tritiya is the most important day in the hindu calendar. They say that in order to perform any major function like marriage, gruhapravesha you don’t even have to check your horoscope for finding a good Muhurtham.

On this day, many ladies give thambula including blouse piece, and other items. Any thing you give or donate they say become akshaya. Meaning infinite or one that never diminishes. I have seen many people also buy gold on this day.

So, if you have decided to anything new this year, this is the right day to get started. If you have all the resources, than go buy gold, and before wearing it place it near God. Donate a few dollars to a nearby charity or to your closest temple.

P.S: It is also the day my Mysore Ajji was born. Happy Birthday Ajji.

The comment below has forced me to comment on the post itself rather than individual comments I usually do. I am not an astrologer or a preist. Nor do I have extensive knowledge of any of these. I have written the post based on what I have seen in all these years in my life; and things being done around my circle. If you don’t agree, you don’t have to follow. I however appreciate all your comments and will not edit and publish them as is if found appropriate.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I do not agree fully.
    There is no dictum in Hindu astrology or Muhurt that starting anew venture orbuying gold or wearing new ornamaents on Akshaya Tritiya is auspicious/ beneficial/ recommended.

    It is ment for PUNYA Karmas.

    Pl cull out any dictum for my comments.

    Pl log on to my blog for details:

    Akshaya Tritiya – do not follow blindly
    15 hours ago by Shridhar
    Indeed as per dictums of Vedic / Hindu electional (MUHURT) astrology, Akshaya Tritiya is one of the most effective election. However, it is painful that masses are misguided as they do not have access to the treatises & original source. …

    Electional astrology –

    http://shridhar-electionalastrology.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  2. Posted by vidya on April 28, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Dear Meera,
    i always wanted to know about akshya tritiya.thanks it gave all the information i needed.And by the way its my dad birth day too. I wished him yesterday.
    vidya venu.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,180 other followers

