Simple and Easy Cauliflower Palya

flower-palya

We always try to cook vegetables with so much spices and masala, that many times the true taste and flavor of the vegetable is almost lost. Especially when you add Onions, the taste takes a completely different route. I guess that’s why Onions and garlic is a big no in Madhwa houses.  It might be also due to the strong flavour and smell of that it is not being used.(OK, I am just writing my opinion here, I am sure someone will comment saying I should check with Historians or Big people to find out why we don’t eat Onion or Garlic. :)

Anyway, I make this Caulifower vegetable when there is always a second accompaniment for either Pooris or Chapathis. Because my Daughter doesn’t like eating Cauliflower, Cabbage, eggplant and so many other vegetables in any form. I know, being a vegetarian she doesn’t eat so many vegetables. She will learn when she goes to College. I hope so..

So, in yesterday’s post you saw the recipe for Mango Seekarane. I had prepared Cauliflower Palya alongwith that. Without further delay here is how to prepare the simple, quick and easy Cauliflower Palya.

Ingredients:

  • 1 full Cauliflower – cut into florets
  • For seasoning, Jeera, mustard seeds, Hing, 1 red chillie, 1 green chillie,  cilantro and fresh coconut

Method:

In a large bowl, put enough water and drop all of the Cauliflower florets. To this add 2 tsp salt and 1 tsp Haldi. Let this come to a boil. I usually use the pressure cooker since it can hold all of the Cauliflower. When the florets are tender, drain the water.

Now, in a pan add 2 tsp oil. Add jeera, mustard seeds, red chiilie, green chillie. Next, add the florets and mix well. If the sale is less, add it to taste.

Finish off by adding cilantro and coconut. Serve with chapathi or Poori or eat it as is.

P.S: This is also good for people who are on a diet. Not much oil, no sugar, not too much salt either. You can also completely avoid coconut if you wish.

mavinahannu-seekarane-007

6 responses to this post.

  1. Lovely dish, yummy Gobi to have with Chapatis! :)

    Yes indeed Asha. Plain and simple with not much spices at all. We eat it as is, don’t even need Chapathi or Poori.

    Reply

  2. Posted by rekha prahalad on May 7, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Hmmmmm it looks so tempting that I felt like pulling the plate out of computer!!!!!!:) Happy Mango Time.

    Hi Rekha. I felt the same when I was posting the picture. I can’t tell how happy my Daughter was when she saw this plate for her afternoon lunch. She went crazy. She said “Amma, you are going to make us obese with all these yummy dishes.” She just loved it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by gayathri on May 8, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    i like this site very site ..beleive me i check this site daily to see the recent post added..pls keep it up the good work ..

    Thanks for your wonderful comments, Gayathri. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed or even email. So, everytime I update the blog, you get an email.

    Reply

  4. Posted by gayathri on May 14, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    cauliflower palya came out very well…my kid liked it a lot…but we can cook it in seperate vessel rather than pressure cooker :-) thanks for the receipe

    Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on May 14, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Hi Gayathri,
    I don’t pressure cook the cauliflower. I just use the cooker without the lid since it can accommodate all the florets. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

