Menthye Soppina Thove – Methi Dal

It has been a long time since I posted anything here. It has become crazy busy at work, and I really didn’t have anytime to update the blog. Thanks for all those who kept emailing me about my whereabouts. Appreciate it so much.

So, here comes my favorite dal, my Mom used to make and I prepare almost regularly. Every time I visit the Indian Store, I get a bunch of Methi leaves. It costs less than $2. And I usually prepare either this Dal or Methi paratha, or Aloo Methi.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch Methi Leaves, washed and finely chopped.
  • 1 cup Toor dal
  • 4-5 tsp grated fresh coconut
  • 2 tsp Jaggery
  • For seasoning : Mustard seeds, Hing, Turmeric, Jeera, Red Chillies, curry leaves.
  • Salt for seasoning, and 2 tsp oil

Method:

  1. Wash and finely chop the Methi leaves.
  2. Pressure cook the Toor Dal.
  3. In a pan, heat oil and add all the ingredients listed in seasoning.
  4. Next, add Methi leaves and let it cook for a few minutes until done
  5. Add the cooked dal, salt to taste, coconut, jaggery and let it boil for a few minutes.
  6. Serve with rice or chapathi.

P.S: If you want to serve with chapathi, and less water while cooking the dal.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lavanya on December 17, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Meera,

    Thanks for sharing this recipe.I prepared thovve the same day it was posted on your blog..It tasted just great. So easy and quick, very delicious and nutritious. I added few green chillies to the recipe as my family likes it to be a bit spicy.
    I eagerly wait to see new posts in your blog everyday.
    Wish you and your family a very happy new year.

    Regards,
    Lavanya

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on December 17, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Lavanya.
    I am glad you tried it. It really is very healthy, quick and full of nutrients. Thanks for letting me know.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ragothaman Raghavan on March 22, 2010 at 5:02 am

    Hi Meera,
    I cooked the Menthyadha thov ve using the dry menthyadha Soppu being sold in the super market. It’s very tasty. In the preparation procedure I added tamrind water and didn’t add jaggery. For seasoning I added Menthi seeds too. I deep fried menthi seeds till it becomes red in colour. It’s very tasty to take with rice.
    Regards,
    Ragothaman Raghavan.

    Reply

  4. Posted by meeraghu on March 22, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    That was really a nice twist., I will have to try it sometime as well.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Preethi on April 26, 2010 at 1:14 am

    hi meera,
    The recipes posted by you are simple and tasty. For menthyada thove, you can grind fresh coconut, chillies, coriander leaves, jeera along with hing n then add this past to the thova n then boil, it tastes well, also add tamarind juice, tastes good, we call it as — muddipalya.
    Good job.
    Please post more recipes

    Thanks and regards
    preethi sreenath

    Reply

  6. Posted by meeraghu on April 26, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Will definitely try, Preethi. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

  7. Posted by roopa on April 8, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Hi Meera,

    I have become a super maniac fan of your outstanding BLOG! Currently living in Philadelphia, PA. I also visit Sri KrishnaVrundavana atleast once a month and did go there for rayara huttuhabba. I am a devotee and believer of LORD GANAPATHY and GURU RAGHAVENDRA SWAMY. Both my in-laws(bellary) and dad’s family ( in Bangalore) are super devotees of rayaru. We go to Mantralaya during Jan and do guru sea for 15 days. Here in US, we do Rayara bhajane on every thursday evening and I was looking for bhajane songs/lirics and it was then, googling took me right into the knowledge paradise – your blog. I can’t miss reading your blog even a single day ever since i have found it ( i have known it from last 4 days). I appreciate all of your love and effort for rayaru. I am an Arya Vysya, and do not know much about Madhwa cooking, even though I love their food and always craved for recepies. Your recipe section rocks! I have started trying one dish every day!

    regards
    Roopa

    Reply

  8. Posted by prasannakumar on September 4, 2013 at 12:49 am

    Madam
    I remember my mother preparing this long time back. The recipe was forgotten with her gone. Thanks for the recipe for this delicious dish
    PK

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,196 other followers

