Nija Vaishaka Masa(ನಿಜವೈಶಾಖ ಮಾಸ) – May 15th-June 12th 2010

Vikrutinama Samvatsara ವಿಕೃತಿನಾಮ ಸಂವತ್ಸರ, Nija Vaishaka Masa ನಿಜವೈಶಾಖ ಮಾಸ, Uttarayana ಉತ್ತರಾಯಣ, Vasantha Ruthu ವಸಂತ ಋತು May 15th – June 12th 2010.

  • May 16th Akshaya Trutiya ಅಕ್ಷಯ ತೃತಿಯಾ
  • May 24th  Ekadashi ಏಕಾದಶಿ
  • May 26th Narasimha Jayanthi ನರಸಿಂಹ ಜಯಂತಿ
  • May 27th Poornima ಹುಣ್ಣಿಮೆ
  • June 8th Ekadashi ಏಕಾದಶಿ
  • June 12th Amavasya ಅಮಾವಾಸ್ಯ

P.S: Akshaya Trutiya is composed of two words, where akshaya means growth and trutiya is the third day in the calendar. As per the Madhwa calendar, performing japa ಜಪ , homa ಹೋಮ , pitru tharpana ಪಿತೃ ತರ್ಪಣ , and dana ದಾನ will give immense growth. Also, gandha has to be applied to God.

Details about Narasimha Jayanthi can be found here:

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lakshmi.ramachandra on May 28, 2010 at 2:25 am

    hello,aunti
    This is lakshmi from nagpur, maharashtra.
    I went through your wesite and I really liked it.
    thanks for putting the raghavendraswamy astotra ,
    I read it everyday.
    my mom liked your website very much.
    she tried many recipies from your blog and it alway turned out to be very tastey.
    my dad too keeps visiting your website very frequently.
    thankyou.

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on May 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Thanks Lakshmi. No need for any formality, you can call me Meera.

    Reply

  3. Posted by lakshmi.ramachandra on May 31, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Hello again aunti,
    I cant call you “MEERA” because I am still too young to call you by your name
    as I am still in 9th standard.
    If you have raghavendra swamy charitre in english can you put it on your blog
    as i dont know read kannada since birth I am living outside Karanataka.

    Reply

  4. Posted by meeraghu on May 31, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Lakshmi,
    No problem at all. You can definitely call me AUNTI. I had a smile after reading your comment.
    I don’t have Raghavendra Swamy Charitre in English. Sorry about that.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Brunda on June 16, 2010 at 6:43 am

    Hi Meera,

    Do have any writing on the ritual to be followed on VAT SAVITRI VRATHA, which is on 26 th of June.

    It would be great if somebody could contribute to the rituals to be preformed for MANGALA GAURI VRATHA aswell, though its in August. As this is the first time that I would be performing these rituals.
    I searched in the blog aswell could not find much.

    Thanks
    Brunda

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on June 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm

      Brunda,
      Just after seeing your comment did I notice that I haven’t yet put the calendar for this month. It has been very hectic the last couple of days. Sorry about that.
      Yes, earlier when I saw the calendar I noticed about Vat Savitri Vrata. I do remember seeing the procedure in a book. I will try and post it before the vrata.
      Yes, I was also planning on posting the pooja procedure for all festivals during Shravana Masa. I hope I will get some time to do the same as well.
      Thanks again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,195 other followers

