Sree Raghavendra Ashtakshara Stotra

From the day I returned from my India trip in October 2009, I have been reciting “Sri Raghavendraya Namaha” 108 times everyday. The book my Aunt Ms. Jayalakshmi  gave had this incredible stotra composed by Sri Jagannatha Dasaru. Sri Raghavendraya Namaha in Sanskrit is composed of eight letters. This stotra explains the significance of each of these letters, and is composed by Sri Jagannatha Dasaru.

Attached below is the lyrics and it’s meaning in Kannada scanned.

My Aunt, Ms. Lalitha translated the Kannada lyrics to English. Thanks so much, Aunty. So, attached below is the lyrics in English.

Shri Raghavendraashtakshara Stotram

1.Gururajasshtaksharam syat maha pataka nashanam

Ekaikamaksharam chaathra sarva kaamyaartha  siddhidam

2. Rakaarochhara matrena roga hanirna samsghayaha

ghakaarena balam pushtiaayuh tejascha vardhate

3. Vakaarenaatra labhate vaanchitarthaanna samshayaha

drakaarenaagha raashistu draavyate druta meva hi

4.yakaarena yamaadbhaadho vaaryate naatra samshayaha

nakaarena narendraanaam padamaapnoti maanavaha

5. Makaarenaiva maahendra maishwaryam yaati maanavah

gurornaamnashcha maahaatmayam apoorvam paramaadhbutam

6. Tannaaama smaranaadeva sarvaabhishtam prasiddhati

tasmaannityam pathedbhaktya gurupaadaratasyadaa

7. Shri Raghavendraaya namah ityashtaakshara mantrataha

sarvaanyaamanavaapnoti naatra kaaryaa vichaarana

8. ashtottarashataavruttim snotra syasya karoti yah

tasya sarvvartha siddhi syaat gururaajaprasaadatah

9. Etadashtaaksharasyyatra maahaatmyam vetti kaha pumaan

paranaadeva sarvaartha siddhirbhavati naanyathaa

10. Swaminaa raghavendraakhya gurupaadaabja sevinaa

krutamashtaakshara stotram gurupreethikaram shubham

iti shri gurujagannatha daasaaryavirachita shri rahavendra ashtaakshara stotram sampoornam

shri krishnaarpanamastu

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shubha Satish on May 20, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Hi Meera,
    I am very happy to see this ,today being Thursday.I have somethings to share on this site.Please tell me how to upload photos ,recipes and lyrics.I too would like to make some contributions to this wonderful site.Do i need to download any software for these things?
    For the above lyrics,do you just want to convert the lyrics into English/with meanings translated into English?
    It will be my pleasure to participate and help the site.

    Regards,
    Shubha

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on May 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Shubha,
      Thanks so much for your assistance. My Aunt, Ms. Lalitha has already sent me the lyrics in English. I was at work the entire day today, and was unable to post the same. Will do it tomorrow. However, you can provide the meaning translated in English.

      I haven’t given administrator rights to anyone. So, you will have to send me all the information and I can post it giving all credit to you.

      I am so glad you are willing to participate and help this site grow even more bigger.

      Also, I was planning on posting the pooja procedure for all the festivals coming up during the Shravana Masa. I have them in Kannada. So, if you are interested, I can scan the same and send it to you, and if you can translate them in English it would be a great resource for thousands who visit during the festival season.

      Please let me know your thoughts.

      Reply

      • Posted by Shubha Satish on May 24, 2010 at 3:05 pm

        Hello Meera,
        I am interested in making some contrbutions to your site.I have already translated the meaning of Sri Raghavendra Astakshara Mantra to my best effort & would like it send it to you.How can I give this to you?Also please feel free to correct if there are any mistakes .I have 2 emails which are : shubha_sridhara@yahoo.co.in
        s.shubha@indiatimes.com.
        I was happy at the end,because it meant reading the mantra & meaning over & over to get to know the details.Moreover it is in Kannada(which I can keep in touch),some knowledge of Sanskrit.
        I remember my grandparents who were a great source of knowledge and inspiration & my Sanskrit teachers.
        The credit is owed to these people in my life.
        I did remember one more: Swamy karya, Swa karya .

        Thanks,
        Shubha

      • Posted by meeraghu on May 24, 2010 at 7:50 pm

        Thanks, Shubha. I will send you an email to your email ID provided, and you can send me the files.

  2. Hello Meera,
    Reading your blog from past a year and thought of contributing something from my side also.I have written a post on Honnali Shri Raghavendra Swamy Mutt.It is in Shimoga,Karnataka.Most of the people doesnt know about it.So it would be great if you please put a note on this in you site.Thank you.
    Here is the link for the post : http://ashwini.logukrishnan.net/2010/04/06/honnali-shri-raghavendhra-swamy-mutt/

    Reply

  3. Posted by meeraghu on May 20, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Dear Ashwini,
    I will post the details and link soon. I do remember my Mom talking about it being the second mantralaya. Just awesome.

    Thanks so much.

    Reply

  4. Dear Meera,

    You are doing a great job. I live in Dubai. I really miss everyone back in India. Especially I feel bad that i am not able to go to sri rayaru’s mutt. I started checking your blog recently and I feel good seeing ur updates about the articles and stotras of Sri Rayaru. Keep posting. Great Job.

    Thanks,

    Preethi Prasanna

    Reply

  5. Posted by Aarthy Guruprasad on June 4, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Dear Meera,
    Recently I found your blog, right from the shlokas,details about hindhu(madhwa) festivals and also about the recipies, ur doing a great job, its really usefull for people like us who stay away from our elders in India. very nice to read the stotras, I keep checking ur updates,
    Great job!!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Deepak on December 1, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Hi Mam,

    Good to see stuff like this. Although I’m a madhva, only recently I started practising it. every Thursday I go to Rayar mutt in hyd. Is this the same aarti sloka that pujaris read before tugire song?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

