Badam Poori Revisited

I had blogged about Badam Poori almost 3 years back. My daughter Sneha came here on Wednesday night for fall break. When I asked her want she wanted to eat, she gave a list of items; and one of them was Badam Poori. She loves it. And it has become my favorite as well. So, this time I took pictures at every step and so here comes the most forgiving recipe for Badam Poori.  It is quick and easy and yummy. Give it a try, you will love it.

Ingredients for the dough:

1. 2 cups Maida (All purpose flour)
2. pinch of salt(adding salt brings the flavor)
3. 6 tsp oil( this is for mixing with the flour)
4. 1/2 tsp Badam food color

Ingredients for the Syrup:

1. 3 cups sugar
2. Water just so that the sugar dissolves
3. 1/2 tsp food color.
4. Cardamom powder

Method:

1. Heat the 6 tsp oil in a pan.
2. When its is hot, pour this on the flour.
3. Add salt, and the food color.
4. Mix the dough, just like chapathi dough
5. Make small round balls, roll this into a circle and fold into triangular shape.


6. In a pan, heat a large amount of oil and fry these on medium heat.

7. In another vessel, bring the sugar to a boil, add food color to this as well. When the syrup becomes thick, turn off the gas, add cardamom.
8. Now, add the fried pooris in this syrup in batches, let them sit there for a minute or two until they absorb the syrup. Turn them over. I keep them in the syrup until the next batch is ready to be dipped.

9. Put them in another tray, garnish with dessicated coconut, and any other chopped dried fruits you have.
10. I didn’t have Almonds or Cashews, so just managed with coconut..

Serve when its hot or even cold.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ragothaman on October 23, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    This is a very nice and easy recipe. Have you tried to use whole wheat instead of maida along with powdered almonds ? This will not only be healthy also the badam food color can be avoided.
    Ragothaman

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on October 24, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I thought about using whole wheat, however didn’t want to experiment. I will definitely try it next time.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ragothaman on October 24, 2010 at 11:35 am

    On second thoughts, I think I will experiment as to how much almond powder should be used so that the final product does not become brittle.
    In anycase, this is a great recipe that I will use for our next get together with friends.
    Raghu

    Reply

  4. Yum! I have to try this…

    Which brand of all-purpose flour did you use?

    Thanks again for the wonderful recipe.

    Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on October 27, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Kum,
    Just the regular available in Giant grocery store.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ragothaman on November 6, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Happy Deepavali.
    For this Deepavali, I made Badam Poori with powdered almonds (peeled) and whole wheat flour yesterday. It came out deliciously good. Will send you the photo by mail.
    Got lot of praises from friends. :)
    Thanks,
    Ragothaman

    Reply

  7. Posted by Geeta Vedanti on November 6, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Happy Deepavali,
    I made this sweet today (11/6) – for Balindera Pooje.
    Came out really good. My 8 year old son – gave me thumbsup. That is biggest certification for me.
    Thank you guys for posting this receipe.
    I like the idea of Whole wheat with almond powder.

    Does anybody have receipe for ripe bananas?
    I know mangalore Bu

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on November 8, 2010 at 9:53 am

      Geeta,
      I made this also again. We traveled to NC to meet our daughter for Diwali. This is her favorite, and she loved it.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Geeta Vedanti on November 6, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    apologize for incomplete sentence. I accidently hit enter tab.
    I usually make Mangalore Buns, Rasayana, panchgajeya.
    gv

    Reply

  9. Can you pls be specific abt quantity of water you put to make the syrup? I really want to try this weekend!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Sundar Matpadi on January 23, 2013 at 1:30 am

    My mother makes a slight different version of similar dish and is called ‘paal poli’ (milk poli). Making of poori is same using maida (I guess she probably adds a spoon or two of fine rava). For the sweet, she uses milk, sugar or milkmaid and adds saffron (more towards watery consistency). Boil this mixture (pretty much like payasam) and then start dipping the poori and leave it for few minutes to soak. Stack the poories and at the end pour the remaining milk mixture on top of the poori stack.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Preeti on March 16, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    Meera mam, pardon my ignorance but why is it called badam puri? It looks very similar to ‘chirote’. Is the recipe same as chirote?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,179 other followers

