Bisibele Bath – With a Twist

Can you guess what’s the twist without reading the next few lines, just by looking at the picture above?

At my work, one of my colleagues had brought a dish with cracked wheat. She is also a vegetarian from North India. The dish was very good, and she said it had cracked wheat. I knew cracked wheat is good for health, however had never brought the same or even tried it. So, on Monday when I visited the local Indian stores, I saw cracked wheat and brought a packet.

I am sure you all know where I am going with this dish right? Everyone in my house loves Bisibele Bath. However, I prepare this rarely because it is too filling, and sits in your stomach like a cement. All the rice, dal, vegs makes it too heavy in calories. So, when I tasted this dish from my colleague, I told her I could try making Bisibele Bath, and I did it yesterday. It was quick, easy, and I was able to put all the ingredients in the pressure cooker in 10 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cracked wheat (ಗೋಧಿ ಅಕ್ಕಿ)
  • 1 cup toor dal (ತೊಗರಿ ಬೆಲೆ)
  • 1 cup vegetables ( carrots, beans, capsicum, corn)
  • 3/4 cup sprouted moong dal (ಹೆಸರ ಕಾಳು)
  • 1/2 tsp tamrind pastes, 1 tsp tomato paste
  • 3 tsp bisibele bath powder
  • salt to taste
  • For seasoning : oil, mustard seeds, hing, curry leaves, haldi

Method:

  • Wash the dal and also cracked wheat. I used frozen vegetables, so there was no chopping work.
  • Put this along with all the ingredients listed other than the seasoning into the pressure cooker.
  • Add 4 cups of water, and salt and mix well.
  • I kept this for 5 whistles on the gas stove.
  • Once the pressure cools down, add the seasoning to the bisibele bath. I wanted this to be healthy, so didn’t add any seasoning. Trust me, it did taste good.
  • Serve with Raita. Enjoy a healthy and tasty bisibele bath with a twist.

P.S:  No onion or garlic in this dish makes it an option to be prepared on the days you are fasting, like Thursday’s, Saturday’s, or even Mondays when I have seen many ladies fasting.

Also, since this dish is so healthy now, with no oil if you don’t add seasoning, no rice, I cheated a  little bit and added spicy mixture on top. It does make a difference. Way to stay healthy..

Any suggestions for what this should be called? I would say “Cracked Bisibele bath”. When I came up with this name, everyone started laughing, which again is healthy, since the more you laugh the longer you live.

22 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mamatha on November 5, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    meera,
    Could u please give bisi bele bhath powder recipe?
    Thanks mamatha

    Reply

  2. Posted by Madhukar on November 5, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    “Cracking” Great recipie.

    Cracked Wheat is a new name here for me. Can you add photo of how the Cracked Wheat looks like. That will give us an idea. But Great “Cracked” variation. HAPPY DEEPAVALI to all on this blog.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Madhukar on November 5, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    On second look – looks like “Godhi Tari” ???????

    Reply

  4. Posted by Usha on November 7, 2010 at 7:05 am

    Meera,

    Though I have visited, cooked the recipes from here, so many times, this is the first time I’m posting my acknowledgments. Your site is very helpful, covering not just traditional and devotional aspects but also hits the right notes on authentic cooking.

    I have been googling for Huli recipe, the Madhwa style. The ones they make during Rayara Aaradhaney. I would really appreciate if you can post that recipe for me.

    Belated Deepavali wishes to you and family

    thanks

    Reply

    • Sooji is fine ground rava. Cracked wheat used to be served with meals as substitute for rice which was heavily rationed during world war II. It was called wheat lapsi in Bombay then. Thanks

      Reply

      • Posted by meeraghu on November 8, 2010 at 9:50 am

        Interesting information. This was the first time I ate cracked wheat. I liked it, and will try many more recipes with that and post.

    • Posted by meeraghu on November 8, 2010 at 9:52 am

      Usha,
      Thanks for your comments. I will post it, let me first confirm my recipe with a few in Bangalore to make sure it is indeed how it is prepared.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Brahmanyan on November 7, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Good innovation, My wife says that it is better to add Haldi along with other ingredients into the cooker.
    Happy Deepavali,
    Brahmanyan.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Nikhila on November 8, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Meera…thanks for the recipe.
    You can substitute the cracked wheat with avallakki too !! The taste is the same.

    Reply

  7. Posted by varshaprakash on November 12, 2010 at 10:45 am

    i think u can call this as “bisibele cracked wheet” coz u know bath means “anna”.

    Reply

  8. very nice … thaq

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sandhya on November 25, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Interesting recipe! I know and have tasted a sweet made of broken wheat . It is called ‘dalia’. I shall try the bisibelebath recipe with broken wheat. Should you be naming it as ‘bisibelegodhi” since it is not rice that is being used..ha ha.

    Reply

    • Posted by amma on July 26, 2011 at 9:56 am

      Cracked wheat available here in Nor Cal – silicon valley- Indian grocery stores and is named as FADA.

      Reply

  10. Posted by k.usha on November 26, 2010 at 4:57 am

    hai meera,
    thanks for providing the details of preparing bisibela bath with a twist.
    very easy to cook. i will try this immediately. Provide more such informations about easy dishes.
    thank u once again.
    usha

    Reply

  11. Posted by Divya on January 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Wow. Nice twist. Meera, can you please post recipe of thona thona. My mom in law used to make it with curd and leafy veggies. I cannot find it over the Internet else. I think its a madhwa recipe. Do you know the ingredients?

    Reply

  12. Posted by meeraghu on July 26, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    No, Divya. No idea what it is.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Sahana on June 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Hi Ms Meera, I am very happy that u have posted about prayers, cooking and many more good things! Pls keep up the good work!

    Reply

  14. Posted by sita on August 22, 2012 at 12:48 am

    Thona thona is nothing but cooked green leaves in yoghurt. need to heat them together in low flame,not to boil yogurt or it curdles. you can add a ground spice mixture of green chillies, cumin and coconut flakes- the recipe is the same as palidhya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers

