Bombai (Aloo) Bonda with a Twist

I have been experimenting a lot the last few days to make most dishes healthy and tasty. Sneha, my daughter will be going to UNC, Chapel Hill on August 15th, so all these dishes and new entries in the blog.

Bombai bonda as it is called in Banagalore( no idea why) is a delicious fried snack. I rarely make this. However, I wanted to experiment this and the outcome was just amazing. No one even knew it wasn’t fried until I told them.

The recipe remains the same, no change there. However, instead of frying the bonda, you place each one of them in the Gundapongalu tray.

Ingredients for the Aloo Filling:

  •  2 Potatoes boiled, peeled, and grated (or finely chopped)
  • 1 Onion finely chopped (optional)
  • 2-3 green chillies finely chopped
  • Cilantro – 2-3 sprigs finely chopped
  • Ginger – finely grated to taste
  • salt to taste

Ingredients for the batter

  • 1/2 cup Besan
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp haldi
  • Hing to taste
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda (optional)

Method:

  • In a pan heat oil, add mustard seeds, cumin seeds, green chillies and ginger.
  • Fry for a minute or two. Now add onions and fry until they are translucent. ( this is optional)
  • Next, add the grated potatoes and salt. Mix them.
  • Add cilantro.
  • When it is cool to handle, make small balls.
  • Mix all the ingredients for the batter adding enough water. The batter has to be thick as shown below so it can coat the filling.
  • Now, place the Gundapongalu griddle on the gas stove. Add little bit oil in each of the holes. When the oil is hot, dip the potato balls into the batter and place them in the griddle.
  • Flip them when they are done on one side, and add little oil so the other side also gets cooked.
  • Serve with any chutney. I served as is since they were spicy because of the green chillies.
  • Enjoy the healthy and Bombai Bonda with a Twist. :)

P.S: I have also tried making Ambode and Felafel( Madhwa Style) in this very same skillet and it turned out great. I will blog about those some time soon.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lalitha Rao on August 8, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Hi Meera,
    This recipe is great. Though I love the fried stuff, I would prefer to make all these snacks without frying. I don’t have that skillet. Hope I will get it here and during Dasara time, I want to try making “Eriyappa” for Saraswathi Pooje and I will let you know how that comes out. If I don’t get that skillet here, next time when I go to B’lore, I will bring it.
    Lalitha

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 9, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Aunty,
      The skillet is available in Amazon, walmart and target also.

      Reply

      • Posted by Sushma on August 22, 2011 at 9:45 pm

        Dear Ms. Meera,

        Thank you for posting such excellent tips on vegetarian and esp bangalore Madhwa cooking. I would like to congratulate you on your excellent effort, it is much appreciated.

        Can you please send me the link for the skillet that you have mentioned in this post that is used to make the guntaponganalu and this amazing bonda? I was unable to find it in the store, will buy it online.

        Thank you,

        S

      • Posted by meeraghu on August 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

        It is available in walmart, target. Below are the links:

        http://www.walmart.com/ip/Pancake-Puff-Pan-Kit/10264352

      • Posted by Sushma on September 12, 2011 at 9:53 pm

        Dear Ms. Meera,

        Thank you for the link. I ordered my skillet from amazon and made the guntaponganalu for a family gathering.. all of us loved it..
        cant wait to try the aloo bonda..

        Regards,

        S

  2. Posted by Padmashree on August 10, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Namaste Meera,

    I tried this and the result was fantastic. It tastes so good and everyone at home liked this and they want this to be prepared very often as it is healthy as well.

    Thanks a lot,

    Regards,
    Padmashree

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rohini on July 11, 2014 at 4:10 am

    I made this yesterday and everyone liked it so much! Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,038 other followers

