Quick, Easy and Tasty Coconut Burfi

My Daughter and Husband love Kobbari Mithai. I used to prepare this very frequently in my early years of marriage in Bangalore. However, once we moved to the US, I stopped bringing Coconut quite often expect for festivals. This year, on Krishna Janmasthami I decided to prepare Kobbari Mithai for our Littlest guest Lord Krishna. It is quite easy to make and takes less than 20 minutes and requires just 4 ingredients. Quick, and tasty easy is what I like about this.

Ingredients:

1. 2 cups grated coconut, or frozen coconut

2. 1 and 1/4 cup suger

3. 3-4 crushed cardamoms

4. 2 tsp ghee

Method:

1. Mix the grated coconut and sugar and keep aside for a few minutes.

2. Take a very thick bottom pan, put this mixture and on a medium heat, keep stirring this for close to 18-20 minutes.

3. The mixture starts to thicken and leaves the sides on the pan. Add crushed cardamom at this point.

4. Grease a plate, and apply ghee. Pour this mixture and tap it with a spatula so the mixture is evenly spread

5. Cut into desired shape.

P.S: While grating the coconut make sure you don’t use the black portion. This will give you a white Coconut Burfi. Enjoy.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dhananjay Jog on August 28, 2012 at 1:10 am

    Thanks for recipe of mouth watering kobbari mithai. It’s so simple to prepare and needs only four ingredients !

    Reply

  2. Hi Meera,
    Good morning…this is Vani Viswanathan…I sent many quires so far, but not received single reply from you…plz let me know

    Regards,
    Vani ( Abu Dhabi)

    Reply

  3. My niece introduced me to this site. How do I subscribe to this

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nikhila on August 30, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Looks as white as snow :) I have to admit, my kobbari mithai has never come out like this, Meera.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,160 other followers

