Visting India

It has been an amazing two days in India. I came to New Delhi on Friday night. As I mentioned earlier, my Husband Raghavendra is here for more than a month on Work. I joined him on 21st. On Saturday, we visited the local attractions in Delhi like  India Gate, Rastrapathi Bhavan, Red Fort, Raj Ghat, Gandhi Museum, Indira Gandhi Museum, Qutub Minar.

On Sunday, yesterday we visited Taj Mahal, Mathura and Brindavan. I will be here in New Delhi Until October 7th, visit Bangalore for 2 days and be back in the US on October 9th.

I will post some of the amazing pictures we took of our visit. Attached below are pictures I took at the Mahatma Gandhi Museum, the place where Mahatma was assassinated. A big salute to our Mahatma.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Are you visiting bangalore ?
    Anyways have good time!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lakshmi on September 24, 2012 at 7:32 am

    nice to hear you are visiting Bangalore. I suggest you take picture of Ganesha made in sand at APS grounds

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 24, 2012 at 8:05 am

      I am visiting in October, it may not be there. If you have pictures, share it with me. I will upload here.

      Reply

      • I shall appreciate if, while in Bangalore, you could give me a call on my Bangalore No.919886787004. Thanks and best wishes

      • Posted by meeraghu on September 25, 2012 at 11:11 pm

        Sir,
        I have just 1 and 1/2 days in Bangalore. I am not sure I will have time to talk to you this time. I am going to make another trip in 2013, around April/May, and will be in Banagalore itself for the entire period. I will definitely try during that time.

  3. Posted by bhavana on September 24, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    Nice to hear that you are in India.
    Last year during Diwali we visited Delhi and Jaipur. I am sending some pictures to your mail ID.
    Did you visit Swami Narayan temple? If not , do visit especially in the morning or evening. We were there merely for half an hour and I was not satisfied. We could not take photos too.
    I wish you a joyous time!

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 24, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      Bhavana,
      We are going to visit Jaipur this weekend. Not sure what areas we can cover in just 2 days. We will try to see as much as possible.

      Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 25, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      Bhavana,
      We visited Akshardham just yesterday. No pictures allowed. Too tight security. We spent close to 3 hours. Breath taking, see the post I just finished. :)

      Reply

      • Posted by bhavana on September 26, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        Meera,
        Nice to hear that you spent quite a long time at Aksharadham. Really, no words to explain the beauty and we can take back only mind-full of pictures.

        If you get time visit Haridwar and rishikesh. The river Ganga here is really
        ರುದ್ರರಮಣೀಯ. Long back in 1997 we had been to there. Except the great Ganga snan other memories are faded.

        -Bhavana.

  4. Posted by G R Rao on September 24, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Have a nice time and glad u visited brindaban. G .R Rao. Muscat

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 25, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      Brindavan temple is amazing, however the premises and the arrangement to get into the temple is a chaos. More about it in my next post.

      Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on September 26, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Bhavana,
    No time to visit Haridwar and Hrishikesh this time. Hopefully in our next trip we can go there.

    Reply

  6. Meeraghu: Occasionally I visit your site. Got surprised you’re in India right now. When you can come down to Bangalore, why not visit us at Coimbatore? My wife and I would wish you perform some puja, or say some sloka in our puja room. Will you consider this request. If you think, you’ve time and mind, I’ll provide you with more details.
    – bgrinner.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 30, 2012 at 11:27 pm

      Bgrinner,
      Not this time. I am coming to Bangalore just for 1 and 1/2 days, we do not have vacation. Hopefully, next time when I visit Bangalore I will try.

      Thanks so much for your invitation. Appreciate it very much.

      Reply

      • Very disappointing, Meeraghu, although I know full-well that you’re pretty busy, and have only a few days before you returned back to US. Further disappointed that you weren’t even promising you’d consider my desire in your next visit to India too.
        - bgrinner.

      • Posted by meeraghu on October 1, 2012 at 9:23 am

        My intention was not to disappoint you. It has nothing to do with my busy schedule either. I was being honest and anytime I have visited India the last several years, it has been so hectic. So, making false promises isn’t my nature.

        Hope you understand.

        And I did say “Hopefully, next time when I visit Bangalore I will try.” So, I am not sure about your disappointment. Did you even read my comment?

      • OK, thanks, madam! Last week as my wife and I were traveling to Madurai from Coimbatore. On the way right on the sides of road, there’s a Hanuman temple, and we promptly visited the temple. To our surprise, the temple was run by some devout Kannadigas, and descendants of Jeya Theerthar and Sri Madhvaachariar. The temple houses Lord Hanuman, Sri Lakshmi Nrisimhar, Jeya Theerthar, and Sri Ragavendrar too. A huge painting of Sri Madhvachariar is also there. We spent a lot of time in the temple before we left for Madurai. The town where the temple is: Palladam. Thank you. – bgrinner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

