Mahendi @ IndiaGate

I love applying Mahendi’s. Anytime I visit India, I get the cone and use it. I apply Mahendi to everyone at home, except Men. :)

I still remember when I was a kid, my Sister kept cleaning her hands each time I applied Mahendi saying mine was better than hers. I used to apply Mahendi to her and later to my hands, and she always felt mine was better than hers. Oh, how I wish we can rewind and go back to those ages.

So, there was a little girl standing near India Gate with a book full on intricate designs of Mahendi. She was charging Rs 100 for one hand. My Husband forced me to apply Mahendi and was willing to carry my purse until it dries. Nice no?

So, attached are a few pictures of the Mahendi I got applied for just one hand.

10 responses to this post.

  1. They should have added some chemical in the mehendi paste. Mehendi leaves orange to dark brown colour and not Red as one of the photos suggest.

    Please make changes in my eMail address. dr.jammi@jammi.org. Thank you

    Reply

  2. Posted by rama on September 27, 2012 at 2:19 am

    truly its very nice …..great India ….

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shruthi on September 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    That’s beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sandhya on September 28, 2012 at 4:22 am

    Very nice!! I like the smile on the girl’s face. She surely is talented. The design looks so delicate.

    Reply

  5. Posted by meeraghu on September 28, 2012 at 4:23 am

    Yes, indeed. She was smiling all along, I and my Husband couldn’t say no to her when she kept asking to apply Mahendi.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Neelu on September 30, 2012 at 1:33 am

    Really pretty, also noticeable is the happiness in the girl’s eyes.. :)

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on October 1, 2012 at 2:26 am

      Rs100 meant nothing to us, but it meant so much for this girl. Does show that money which can buy you food can buy happiness also. :)

      Reply

  7. Posted by Neelu on October 1, 2012 at 3:09 am

    Very true. Plus it looks like it was really hot at that time of the day. So she must’ve been so thrilled that the money was worth her efforts and of course, food! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,047 other followers

