Cabbage Palya in Minutes

There are many varieties of dishes you can make with cabbage. In the last few days, you saw me posting about Cabbage with cracked wheat Upma. Today it is Cabbage Palya with Jolada Roti. Other than the time it takes to chop cabbage finely, this palya takes literally a few minutes to make.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 finely chopped cabbage
  2. 5-6 finely chopped green chillies
  3. 5-6 tsp coconut
  4. finely chopped coriander leaves
  5. 1/2 tsp haldi, 1/2 tsp mustard seeds, 1/2 tsp jeera, 5-6 curry leaves
  6. 2 tsp oil
  7. pinch of hing
  8. salt to taste

Method:

In a microwave bowl, cook the cabbage. Next, in a pan, add the oil. When the oil is hot enough add the mustard seeds and jeera. When it starts spluttering all over your stove, add the haldi, hing and green chillies and curry leaves. Next, add the cabbage, salt, coconut. Fry for a few minutes until all of them get mixed well. My mom and even I add a 1/2 tsp of sugar as well. If you don’t like it, just skip the same.

Finally, add the finely chopped coriander leaves. I ran out of coriander leaves and curry leaves.

Serve with rice, chapathi or jolada roti.

Give it a try, let me know how it tasted.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sirisha on November 4, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Meera ! We do this dish quite often and yeah sugar is a must for us .. Just a little but brings the right taste ! May be if the coconut isn’t originally sweet also, this takes care! Kids and adults all like it and yeah I eat it like a salad :-)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kavitha GuruRaghavendran on November 8, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Meeraji, when I saw the Joladha rotti..really I want that recipe . please…b-cos I tried this several times but all the time it was big flop..it has some raw and bitter taste the problem was I could not make it thin and transfer to the pan..so I made thick and it didn’t cook properly inside and it was very hard to eat..I tasted it in my friend’s place long back it was so yummy!! I want to bring that taste. I honestly request you to post the “Joladha Rotti” recipe. Thanks .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,145 other followers

