An Amazing Comment from Ms.Thamilarasi Venkat

Ms. Thamilarasi Venkat has been following my blog for several years now. I received an email from Ms. Thamilarasi a few weeks back. It was amazing to read her email. Emails such as these make me more and more motivated to share whatever little I know about our religion. I always strive to share whatever I know, be it in my own home, this blog, or my professional career.  So many of you ask me where do I get the time for this blog.

Attached below is the email I received from Ms. Thamilarasi which I thought would be an awesome place to share with you all.

Dear Mam,
I am a great fan of your blog,have been reading every article of yours twice thrice and tried out your receipes too. First I should appeciate the neat look of your blog. It is very friendly to the eyes, the arrangement of topics is excellent, the content crisp and also gives all necessary details. I should also say that the pooja arrangements in your house, the way you lay out the idols,lighting lamps and keep them neat and presentable is a real treat to one’s  eyes.
 I have learnt a lot from you mam,  thanks for being my Dronacharya. :) I have some pictures of my swarna gowri vrat and varalakshmi pooja. Kindly give your suggestions and comments. The swarna gowri pooja was purely done reading your blog every bit. I made note of every detail and tried to do it exactly as you have mentioned. I also tried the pooja display to be as neat s your, ofcourse it is no way near yours but you have been a great inspiration in my life. Any festival, I refer your blog to see how to worship,what to cook as neivedhya, its like an encyclopedia for me.Thanks is a very small word for what you have done to me but I have only that to tell for now.Thanks for such an excellent blog, please continue the good work.
regards,
Thamilarasi
and below are some details about Ms. Tamilarasi.
About me..I was a teacher, have given up my job now and do online trading for my expenses.  I have a 16 year old daughter, she is in class XI this year. My husband is a mechanical engineer, designs fixtures for CNC machines. He runs a machining unit with two more friends. We live in Hosur.
 I am also a devotee of Rayaru and I keep searching for articles on him That was how I stumbled upon your blog.  From the day I saw your blog, I have been reading all your posts and am so happy that this blog was up since 2007, so much more to read :) happy.
 My parents are from deep south where worship of shiva is prominent. Since I’m married to my own cousin, traditions did not change much and there was no way for me  to know of krishna jenmashtami,varalakshmi pooja or any other vaishnavite festivals. But my fav god is krishna. Thanks to ISKCON. We came to hosur 5 years back and thats when I started seeing varalakshmi pooja, swarna gowri pooja . I was so interested  and would ask my neighbours for details. So far I have been observing these festivals only with the help of them. Now seeing your blog I am troubling them less.
For me god, the supreme power is one, we call him by diff names and any number of times to remember him, practice thiyaga and vairagya by way of fasting and adhering to certain rules are means to reach him fast. I fasted the whole day on jenmashtami and woke up alone till midnight after reading your blog. Thanks to you. Your blog and the details you have shared about your family tradition helped to follow a festival in the right way. Earlier i used to see http://www.4thsensecooking.com/ for recipes but that blog only had recipes not much of details, should mention the wonderful photographs there. They are breath taking!! Your blog had detailed write up on how to worship also. So i started reading yours deeply. Please keep up this novel work, it is so helpful.
Thanks for the wonderful blog.
11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vijaya on November 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Dear Meera, you deserve every bit of the appreciation

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on November 23, 2012 at 9:55 pm

      I am not sure, Vijaya. I am just so humbled by the overwhelming response from so many who visit this blog. It definitely has made me a better person.

      Reply

  2. You have unmatched abilities and have been proving it time and again.

    * * * * *

    By the way..

    ಪ್ರವಾಸ ಸಾಹಿತ್ಯಕ್ಕೊ೦ದು ಹೊಸ ಆಯಾಮ ಕಲ್ಪಿಸಿದ ಅಪ್ರತಿಮ ಬರಹಗಾರ ಎ೦. ಎಸ್. ಶೇಷಾದ್ರಿ ಅಯ್ಯ೦ಗಾರ್. ಭೌತಿಕವಾಗಿ ಈಗ ಅವರು ಇಲ್ಲವಾದರೂ ಸರಿಸಾಟಿಯಿಲ್ಲದ ಅವರ ನುಡಿಗಡಣ ’ಧರ್ಮಸ್ಥಳದ ಯಾತ್ರೆ’ ಜೀವ೦ತವಾಗಿದೆ. ಇದನ್ನು ಚಿತ್ರಭರಿತ ಬ್ಲಾಗ್ ರೂಪದಲ್ಲಿ ನಿಮ್ಮ ಮು೦ದಿರಿಸುತ್ತಿದ್ದೇನೆ. ನಿಮ್ಮ ಪ್ರತಿಕ್ರಿಯೆಗಳಿಗೆ ಸದಾ ಸ್ವಾಗತ. URL: http://msseshadriiyengar.blogspot.in/

    Reply

  3. It’s a book, to be published @ a chapter a week.

    * * * * *

    Please also find my PPT entitled ’Labournet service to the humanity’ @ http://www.mumbairock.com/profiles/blogs/labournet-service-to-the-humanity.

    Mail your opinion – it helps me to improve.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Thamilarasi on November 29, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Dear Mam,

    I’m surprised and deeply humbled. You have been receiving lots of praises from everyone who visits your blog and you deserve every bit of it. we all owe you a lot mam. You just down write receipes, you pass on traditions,culture,pious celebrations and most of all a sound reminder that there are still people who believe,follow and have the conviction in the supreme power who watches all of us.

    Living in India with all available means to follow these festivals, many of us have our own lame reasons for not observing them. Your blog is sure a blow to such mindsets. I should admit that I myself used to cut down the no. of items in neivedhya blaming time and physical strain. Your display pics are very inspiring. Please keep up this good work.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Thamilarasi on November 29, 2012 at 10:08 am

    Dear Mam,

    I’m surprised and deeply humbled. You have been receiving lots of praises and thankyou notes from everyone who visits your blog and you deserve every bit of it. we all owe you a lot. You just dont write down receipes, you pass on traditions,culture,pious celebrations and most of all a sound reminder that there are still people who believe,follow and have conviction in the supreme power who watches all of us.

    Living in India with all available means to follow these festivals, many of us have our own lame reasons for not observing them. Your blog is sure a blow to such mindsets. I should admit that I myself used to cut down the no. of items in neivedhya blaming time and physical strain. Your display pics are very inspiring. Please keep up this good work.

    Reply

  6. Posted by madhavi on January 25, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    hi meera,
    i truly agree with the comment ms.venkat wrote regarding the blog.i too learnt a lot from from this blog.
    madhavi

    Reply

  7. Posted by Bhavana on January 26, 2013 at 5:12 am

    Your blog is literally a Kalpavriksha Kamadhenu with so much information and variety and………a lot. I am very glad to be linked with a wonderful person like you.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on January 26, 2013 at 9:28 am

      Thanks, Bhavana. You are doing amazing service by giving so many audios, lyrics, and food recipes. Thanks so much.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,086 other followers

