How to make Ghee

The only time I buy butter at my place is during Krishna Janmasthami for Lord Krishna. This is the only time I prepare ghee. I had several requests from many who visit the blog asking how to make ghee here in the US. It is quite easy.

1. Buy unsalted butter from your wholesale dealer like Costco.

2. Let the butter sit out of the refrigerator for 3-4 hours until it is soft.

3. Put the butter bars in a thick solid steel container.

making-ghee1

4. Turn on the gas stove, and let the butter melt slowly on low heat.

5. Once all the butter is melted, you will see froth forming as shown below.

making-ghee2

6. The butter makes sizzling noise as it keeps boiling.

7. Let it boil in low heat until the color changes to brown and the sizzling noise goes away.

8. Leave it to cool and strain the ghee when it is a little bit cool. I didn’t have enough time to strain as I was preparing for all other items, so took a picture as is.

making-ghee4

9. The ghee can be used for cooking, lighting lamp, and can be stored for many many months.

10. The taste of home made ghee is just unbelievable.

11. However, eat at your own risk of increasing your cholesterol. :) That’s why I bring Butter/Ghee just once a year.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by vidyavenu on August 30, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    Could you tell how to clean all the sliver items which we use for pooja they become so black so soon how to make them shine
    Thanks in advance

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 30, 2013 at 7:06 pm

      I have a post in draft from many many years. I struggle cleaning all the silver items, they become very black here in the US. I will post it soon.

      Reply

  2. Posted by kumudha on August 30, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I used to love ghee while I was growing up in Bangalore. I gave up consuming milk, ghee and yogurt after seeing the horrible conditions of cows in dairy farms in India and in United States.

    Nearly 100 years ago, Mahatma Gandhi vowed not to drink cow’s milk after he came to know about the cruel procedure doom dev .

    Please watch the movie, forks over knives .

    Thank you so much for writing about Hindu festivals and delicious recipes!

    global vegan fare

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 30, 2013 at 7:35 pm

      Kumudha,
      Appreciate your comment and being a vegan. However, I am happy being a vegetarian. Not sure I will be able to be a vegan. I have seen many of those movies.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Bhavana on August 31, 2013 at 6:29 am

    Meera,
    Immediately after turning off the stove add 2 betel leaves to the ghee. Close the lid soon because the leaves will splutter and ghee may spill out. This gives an amazing aroma to the ghee. After the ghee gets cool you can eat the crispy betel leaves. They taste yummy. In my childhood I was waiting for the day when my mom prepares ghee. And now my son does so.

    Reply

  4. Hare Shreenivasa,

    Nice to know the procedure to prepare Ghee.

    However last few word of caution puzzled me since I am a regular consumer of Milk, Curds, Butter & Ghee since my Childhood. I have stepped in to 69. No problem with Milk & its bye Products.

    In fact there is a popular saying among Villagers.

    Holakke Shagane (Gobbara), Yettige Hattikaalu and Manushyanige Haina (Milk Products.

    Perhaps, Problem is with artificial Gheee & not Natural Tuppa.

    Vadiraj Kulkarni

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 31, 2013 at 11:46 am

      It is not about artifical vs natural. It is more about physical activity. The village people are way more active than us. That’s why they are able to digest the fat. For those of us living in cities, especially US physical activity is limited. And any form of fat, Ghee, Butter, Whole Milk or Full Fat Yogurt takes a lot to burn. :)

      Anyway, if you are active and have no problem, you can consume as much as you wish.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 946 other followers

