Updated – Kundan Rangoli Designs

Ms. Madhuri sent me the images of many Kundan Ragoli designs created by her Mother. Ms. Madhuri, please convey to your mother that these designs are just awesome. How talented your mother is.

kundan-rangoli3

 

kundan-rangoli2

 

kundan-rangoli1

 

 

kundan-rangoli5

 

kundan-rangoli4

kundan-rangoli6

 

kundan-rangoli7

 

Kundan Rangoli was completely new to me. When Mr. Madhukar shared with me the pictures for Sree Vara MahaLakshmi Pooje, the rangolis surprised me. I asked Mr. Madhukar to send me more details about the same.

Mr. Madhukar writes as follows:

The “Kundan Rangoli” is art work using coloured plastic pieces pasted on OHP sheets.  These are now a rave in Bangalore with footpath vendors popping up during festivals selling pieces from Rs. 50 – thousands – depending on size and design.

The ones pictured were ‘created’ by my mother Savithramma – now aged 77 – who has always had an artistic craze – an exponent of the regular rangoli – colour fillings – hittina rangoli etc.  now that she cannot bend due to knee problems has ‘migrated’ to Kundan rangolis :)
Varamahalaxmi festival always used to be a much sought of festival in our neighbourhood in Mysore (Chamarajapuram) – mainly because of the 1 1/2 to 2 ft Square Colour rangolis that she would display.  She had the co-operation is this aspect by my grand father, grandmother, father, aunt and of course my elder brother and myself.
Attached below are the various pictures sent.
Thanks so much. Mr.Madhukar, And please convey my Namaskaras to your Mother. She is a great artist.
I will definitely buy these during my visit to Bangalore, hurray yes, coming soon to Bangalore in a few weeks. :)
kundan-rangoli1
Kundan-Rangoli4
Kundan-rangoli5
rangoli2
P.S: If you are familiar with this kind of Rangoli and have been drawing them, send me the designs. I will post it here.
28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vani on August 24, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Meera,
    Need your advice. I lost my aunt(father’s sister) in India 2 days ago. Can I go to the temple during the 13 days and do devara deepa at home?
    I do not have any elders alive in my family at this point, so please your thoughtful advice would be much appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 24, 2013 at 7:30 pm

      Vani,
      So sorry to hear that. As far as I know, it is just 1 day mailige at this point. After that, you can definitely go to temple and do pooje. The reason I know this is we did the same for my Father’s sister’s husband when he died of Cancer. So, just took head bath as soon as we heard the news and were able to do pooje starting next day.

      Reply

  2. Posted by theertha on August 26, 2013 at 12:46 am

    Thank u for sending this.

    Reply

  3. Posted by theertha on August 26, 2013 at 12:47 am

    I need one help from your side. If you plsss………

    Reply

  4. Posted by Madhuri on August 26, 2013 at 5:23 am

    Hi Meera,
    I’m a regular visitor of ur blog, the shravana dates which you had mentioned helped me a lot to prepare things for the pooja before 2-3 days as I’m a working mother, it becomes too difficult for me to arrange everything, but ur blog is helping me a lot.. My mother and aunt are expertise at kundan rangoli’s but they do not have a platform to expose their talent, I wanted to send some of the pics which they had made, after seeing this post, thought that I too can help my mother to display her rangoli’s here, she can also take orders and get it done to ppl.. We stay in vijayanagar,bangalore. Can I have your mail-id so that I will send the pics and pls pls post them,… want to show her kundan pics on internet and make her feel proud abt it.. :)

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 26, 2013 at 8:05 am

      That is awesome, Madhuri. Anything I can do to help your Mom, will be a great pleasure to me. Many of my relatives live in Vijayanagar. Maybe, I can see her rangoli in Action when I visit India.

      I have sent you an email, send me the pictures. I will post them.

      Reply

  5. The pictures are excellent.

    Reply

  6. No Radha has not used these Rangolis but I have seen them in several of our relatives house. Your brother-in-law has a book of amazing designs and I have seen them. The LIC Colony Residents Welfare Association organises Rangoli contest every year and I have seen such designs there.I have seen some of these Rangolis in Pranesh’s house in Jamboo Savare Dinne and also at Sudhi’s house (not our brother Sudhi but Dad’s cousin Sudhindra at N R Colony and his house is next to that of Hari Kumar, former Editor of Deccan Herald at Netkalappa Circle. ) Moreover, I have seen such designs in houses of Brahmins near Bramanye Theertha’s house in Bramanyapura (He is the Guru of Vyasaraja and the cousin of Sripadaraja) and at Melkote.I also saw them at MICO factory in Bangalore. I will email the photographs of the wall built by Brahmanye Theertha some time in 1425 in Bramanyapura. I took Dad and Mom there. Bramanyapura has the idol of Prana Devaru that was consecrated by seers of three mathas-Bramanye Theertha of Abbur or Kundapura Mattha, Vyasaraja of Sosale Vyasaraja Matha and Sripadaraja of Mulabagala Sripadaraja Matha. Purandara visited the shrine and sung a composition.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on August 26, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      I would definitely like to buy some designs and bring them back here. So, I can decorate it for all the festivals.

      Reply

  7. Posted by vidyavenu on August 26, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    I too have these rangolis . I use this for all the festivals very handy and beautiful. My sister does it herself at home .Her name is veena naik she is in Bangalore,kamalanagar. She gave this to me as a present now it is very popular.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Chitra on September 6, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Hi Aunty:) Chitra here. Awesome work :)The designs are very creative… hats off:) ….Mad good initiative:)

    Reply

  9. Posted by Mrs. Vasanti Prakash Ghewari on October 7, 2013 at 4:28 am

    PICTURES ARE EXCELLENT pLESAE TELL ME WHICH GUMING MATERIAL IS USED FEVICOL OR WHAT

    Reply

  10. Posted by Raghu Prasad on October 9, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    My sister Ms.Vanishree does varieties of
    Kundan rangolis and wedding items (Brahmin weddings). She also undertakes wedding contracts (providing Varapooje, Kashiyathre and other wedding related artistic items etc.). She stays at Hosakerehalli,Bangalore. Her Phone No. 09901074860.

    Reply

    • Posted by Sudha Batni on November 17, 2013 at 12:47 pm

      Thanks for sharing the information….This is very much needed in the weddings…I will keep in touch when needed.

      Reply

  11. Posted by rashmi s n on October 9, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    hello this is rashmi s n art glue is used on ohp sheet i depends on the material you take pics are awesome

    Reply

  12. Posted by Usha Sridhar on April 1, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Hi, iam usha sridhar, residing in bangalore.I make kundan rangolis. Can i send the pics?

    Reply

  13. Hi Meera,

    I follow your blogs regularly. I make Kundan Rangoli’s as a hobby. Can i send you a few design pics for posting on this blog?

    Reply

  14. Posted by vidya on July 12, 2014 at 6:34 am

    Tnx a lot for so much information. ..it is great to have people like you who are sharing our rituals though staying away from mother land …

    Reply

  15. Posted by savitha Rao on August 30, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    hi
    i am hearing abt rangolis so much but i am not able to see any kundan rangoli pics here have you taken them off?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,106 other followers

