Visit to Guatemala

I visited Guatemala last week for work. I was in this country for 4 days and had a chance to take a taxi ride and see the City for nearly 4 hours. Guatemala – means Land of Trees. And yes, it is indeed a Land of Trees. The city is covered entirely with mountains, and it has three active volcanoes.

I took some pictures of the city. Take a look.

guatemala-visit1

I also visited the fruit and vegetable market.

guatemala-visit2

Clean roads, tall buildings and the city getting ready for Christmas.

pic1

pic2

guatemala-visit3

guatemala-visit4

guatemala-visit5

The court and the state house.

guatemala-visit6

The hotel where I stayed in Guatemala City.

GuatemalaHotel

The airport.

Guatemala-airport

Guatemala is a meat eating place. People didn’t even know what vegetarian means. It was hard to explain in English what I needed since it is a Spanish speaking country. Anyway, I tried to eat as little as possible, and it was mostly salad, bread, soup.

guatemala-food

 
Even though it was a short trip, I enjoyed the place. The people are amazing and very nice. If you get a chance, definitely visit Guatemala.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shiv Dinkar on December 4, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    I also often travel to Central America and South America on official work. This is what I usually do. I take with me many packets of Khakra – dried chappatis with me and, keep them with me in case of emergency. You can find Khakras in Indian stores of different flavor and spices. I also carry an empty stainless steel lunch box during the trip. Early morning breakfast is continental breakfast in the hotel which consists of bread, butter, cheese, fruits, fruit juice, tea. And during breakfast that time, I fill this empty lunch box with cheese, bread, fruits etc. for lunch. Dinner is at the hotel and one can usually find pizza, fruit juices etc.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on December 4, 2013 at 4:49 pm

      I have seen Khakra in Patel Brothers stores. I had never traveled to this part of the world, so it was new for me. Thanks.

      Reply

  2. Posted by venkatanarasiah on December 5, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Dear meeraghu : I am sure you had WONDERFUL STAY AT GUATEMALA : THE pictures were really excellent : Thank you Vatsala Narasiah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,105 other followers

