Temples In and Around Bangalore

During my visit to India in October, I visited many temples. Attached below are some pictures of the same.

Uttaradi Mutt visit on 10/10/2013 evening in Basavanagudi. The mutta is undergoing major construction. It has a new Idol of Lord Narashima installed. You can also see the brindavana of Sree Raghotama Theertharu and Sree Jayatheertharu.

I asked all the Priests if I could take pictures and only when I received a YES, did I take pictures. I also visited Bhanashankari Temple, but was not allowed to take pictures. Same with Mulbagal, so just the outside temple is posted.

uttaradimutt

Next, we visited Sree Vyasarayara Mutta, Basavanagudi. This is where we performed the 80th birthday celebration of my Father.

01

02

On the same day, we visited NR Colony Sree Raghavendra Swamy temple. It was Thursday evening, and they were performing the evening Rathotsava Pooja.

nrcolony

We also visited 5th Block Sree Raghavendra Swamy Temple. This is the temple I visited everyday while I was staying in Bangalore.

5thblock

On October 13th Vijaya Dashami day, was my parents wedding anniversary. We had given for Panchamrita Abhisheka for Lord Venkateshwara in LIC Colony temple. Below are some pictures of the same.

LICColony1

LICColony2 LICColony3 LICColony4

On October 22nd, I visited Sree Khamadhenu Kshetra. I have several pictures posted in an earlier post. I also visited a place called KhambhaSandra, where there is a temple of Lord Narashima. Lord Narashima in a Khamabha or Pole, that’s why the name KhambhaSandra.

Khambha-Narashima

On October 23rd, we visited Mulabhagal. Like I said, I was not allowed to take any pictures inside. So, just the outside temple.

mulbagal

On October 24th, we visited the temples near 4th T block. There are three temples here in the play ground. Goddess Chandrala Parameshwari, Lord Shiva and Lord Ganesha.

Tblock1

TBlock2

My Father performs Saligrama Pooje everyday. I miss taking Thirtha and Phala Mantrakshathe from him everyday. After receiving the Thirtha, I used to do Namaskara to him. How I wish I could be close to my Parents.

 DadPooje1

IMG_2578

IMG_0727

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shubha Satish on December 1, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Excellent photos!, especially Saligrama pooja. We are visiting India too!

    Reply

  2. Nice, appreciate posting these pictures from around Bangalore temples.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shalaka on December 2, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Nice pictures!

    Reply

  4. Posted by sri on December 2, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Hello mam,
    this is not a comment,but i didnt know how to contact you so leaving a message here.
    actually i created a blog like this. Iam sending my kid to sloka classes.So felt i will write the same slokas as a blog for other kids. So Immediately after creating a blog, after the 1st page i just started searching web and i found out so many websites, where i found your blog. After seeing your blog i felt iam nothing and my blog will have nothing apart from the very few slokhas she is going to learn which are already there available online.I liked your blog so much.
    But disappointed about mine which i just started. I dont know anything. Please tell what else can i do ?Is it possible to talk to you directly over chat or call.

    Thank you,
    sri

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on December 2, 2013 at 11:40 am

      Sri,
      Don’t be disappointed. I also started this blog the same way you did. One day your blog will also be popular. Please go ahead and work on your blog. Each person has different ideas, and so one day your blog will also reach great heights. So, please move forward and continue with your blog.

      Reply

  5. Very nice pictures posted. Thank u. One small issue please. My family’s Paramaguru advised me that flowers should not be offered to Saligramas and only Tulasi dala.

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on December 2, 2013 at 10:57 am

      They do offer flowers to saligrama in uttaradi mutta. However, these flowers shouldn’t have thread, since it doesn’t come for Madi. So, Dad offers bidi hoovu, individual flowers which are not tied.

      Reply

  6. Posted by kum on December 2, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Thank you so much! I feel I’m blessed to see so many divine pictures in this amazing blog…

    Can women also perform Saligrama pooje?

    Meera, please visit the website http://www.happycow.net to look for vegetarian and vegan restaurants whenever you are travelling…

    Also be sure to carry nuts clif bars, and Lara bars, – nutritious fruit and nut bars while traveling…

    Thank again for writing!

    Kum

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on December 2, 2013 at 4:25 pm

      Kum,
      Thanks for your comment. As always, I appreciate it very much. No, women are not allowed to perform Saligrama Pooje.
      I do google and try to find vegan and vegetarian restaurants. However, there wasn’t any in Guatemala.
      I am a vegan when I am traveling than a vegetarian. I know many cheese and other products like bread are not really vegetarian. :)

      Reply

  7. Posted by Rv.kaushik on December 2, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Thankyou for sharing these pictures, and you just helped me make a trip to Bangalore ! And Mulbagal Regards Venkatesh kaushik

    >

    Reply

  8. very nice and thanks. i too am listing out old temples in and around bangalore to visit them one by one to get the blessings of deities.

    Reply

  9. I am very happy to see your father doing pooje. I grew up in a similar environment and I appreciate your efforts and interest in this.
    Hayavadana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,106 other followers

