Evaporated MilkyWay ಶಾವಿಗೆ ಪಾಯಸ – Vermicelli Kheer

I have already given two variations I use to prepare . The first one is the traditional one, and the second my invention.

Can you guess how this 3 rd option if different from the first two? Did you read the title? Any guess?

You can see the two options posted earlier here in the link below:

shavige-payasa3

Evaporated Milky Way ಶಾವಿಗೆ ಪಾಯಸ – Vermicelli Kheer:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup ಶಾವಿಗೆ – Vermicelli
  • 2 Cups 2% Milk
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 and 1/2 cup Sugar or to Taste
  • Unflavored Oil – Or  Ghee
  • 3-4 Cloves, 10-15 sliced Almonds, raisins and crushed cardamom Powder.

Method:

  • Fry the cloves, raisins, Almonds and ಶಾವಿಗೆ – Vermicelli in Oil/Ghee until it turns golden brown.  I fry all of them together.
  • Now, add 1/2 cup milk and let the ಶಾವಿಗೆ – Vermicelli cook until soft.
  • When the ಶಾವಿಗೆ – Vermicelli is completely cooked, add sugar and the 1 can evaporated milk.
  • Let it boil until all the sugar is dissolved.
  • Finally, add crushed cardamom powder.

The evaporated milk gave the ಶಾವಿಗೆ ಪಾಯಸ – Vermicelli Kheer completely new taste the first time I prepared. Everyone in my family just loved it. I have been preparing it this Way for many months now. If you like experimenting with food, give it a try. It tastes heavenly.

P.S: This serves almost 20 people. I prepared ಶಾವಿಗೆ ಪಾಯಸ – Vermicelli Kheer this weekend for my Daughter Sneha’s graduation party. Everyone asked for the recipe and wanted to know the secret. And now the secret of Meera’s amazing delicious ಶಾವಿಗೆ ಪಾಯಸ – Vermicelli Kheer is out. :)

8 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you Meera, It is so nice to see the image. I have prepare myself to see the taste of that.

    Reply

  2. Posted by B.SRIDHAR RAO on June 18, 2014 at 3:01 am

    Dear Meera Mami,

    Please let me know the start & ending dates of Ashadamasa

    Regards, B.Sridhar.

    Reply

  3. Posted by krismaly on June 18, 2014 at 9:41 am

    I think we could use Half-and-Half too, am I right?  

    Reply

  4. Posted by devika on June 19, 2014 at 9:42 am

    ah ah,, nodlike nan amma mado payasa tarah ne kanathe,,,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,131 other followers

