Archive for December 7th, 2007

Spiced Creamy Rice

We were in Dubai for 6 years from 1995-2001. Gulf News, the local newspaper, used to publish a magazine called “Friday” on every Friday. I used to ask my husband to bring the newspaper especially to get this magazine. The magazine had a food section with colorful pictures of varied recipes. I used to cut these pages and paste each one in my cookbook.

I thought I had missed this book when we moved here to USA. Last week when I asked my husband about this book, he knew where it was, he had preserved it for me. There are several recipes I have in this cookbook. I will try to prepare each and everyone and post them here. On one side would be the picture of the food item, and if you flip the page just behind the picture used to be the recipe. Here is a picture from my cookbook.

Sample of the recipe

I had all the ingredients for this recipe at hand, and it took less than 15 minutes to prepare this. Here comes the recipe. Enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rice
  • 2 cups yoghurt
  • 1 tsp cream
  • 1 cup fresh milk
  • 1 tsp ghee or oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1/4 tsp asafotedia or hing
  • 3 cashew nuts
  • 2 green chillies finely chopped
  • 1 tsp finely cut fresh ginger or even grated
  • Fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped
  • Fresh curry leaves – 5 or 6 leaves
  • salt to taste

Method:

Wash and cook rice till it is soft. Leave it aside to cool. In a small wok, heat the ghee or oil, splutter the mustard seeds, add asafotedia, cashew nuts, green chillies, curry leaves and ginger. Fry well.

Add the yoghurt, cream, milk and salt to the rice. Pour the fried contents from the wok into the rice and mix well.

Garnish with finely cut coriander leaves before serving.

Spiced Creamy Rice

Note: A cooling, delicious dish that can be had with a dash of pickle and fried pappadums. You can carry this easily for picnis and outdoor activities as well. I used to make this creamy rice every week when we used to go to the beach in Dubai. I miss you Dubai.

