How to make Green Gram Sprouts or Hesara Kalu Molake?

  • Soak Green Gram or hesara kalu in sufficient hot water.
  • I microwave the bowl in which I have soaked the green gram.
  • All the gram should be completely soaked.
  • Make sure there is enough water since they bloat and use up all the water.
  • Soak it overnight.
  • Drain and rinse with water several times.
  • Place it in big bowl as shown below and a colander which has all the beans.
  • Keep it in a warm place the next day.
  • I usually keep it overnight on the dinning table.
  • When you wake up the next day, the beans are all sprouted and ready to be eaten.

Here is a picture of how I sprout them. 🙂

Mung Sprouts

Here is a link on my site for sprouted green gram sabzi and Usli

  1. Sprouted Green Gram Sabzi.
  2. Hesara Kalu Usli

7 responses to this post.

  1. It’s so easy to make any molake kalu. I know some people struggle with it. Looks yummy!:))

    Reply

  2. Posted by meeraghu on December 19, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Hi Asha,
    Welcome back. How was your vacation?
    I know so many people emailed me asking how I make sprouts, I decided why not post one. 🙂

    Reply

  3. […] How to make bean sprouts. […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by john on November 19, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Hi Asha how good is green gram and benefits, medicinal?

    Reply

  5. wat to do in winter season?

    Reply

  6. Posted by meeraghu on December 17, 2009 at 7:00 am

    keep it in your Oven. Warm the oven, switch it off. And now place the bowl in there overnight. It has worked for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

