Besan Unde – Besan Laddoo

Besan Unde

Besan Unde

My Daughter likes Besan Laddoo a lot. Whenever my Mom asks what she wants when some one from Bangalore is coming here, the first thing she says is ” Ajji, I want Besan Unde”. And, my Mom makes the most delicious besan laddoos as well. I was a bit hesitant to make this since I wasn’t sure if it will turn out the same as my Mom does, but I got a certificate from my Daughter saying ” Amma, this tastes exactly like how Ajji does”. So, here comes the recipe for Besan Laddoo I prepared for Janmasthami. Almost similar to Rava Laddoo.


  • 1 and 1/2 cups Besan or Kadale Hittu
  • 1 and 1/4 cup powdered Sugar
  • 9-10 cloves
  • 1/4 cup of Raisins and cashew nuts
  • Cardamom or Elaichi Powder to taste
  • l/4 cup Ghee


  1. Put the Ghee in a thick bottom pan.
  2. Next, when the ghee is hot enough, add raisins, cashew nuts, and cloves and fry on medium heat until the raisins plump. They almost become double of their size.
  3. Next, in the same pan, along with the raisins, nuts and cloves fry the Besan also on medium heat until a nice aroma comes. Since there is too much Ghee, the besan is all together.
  4. Make sure the Besan doesn’t get burned.
  5. It changes color slowly.This might take around 15-20 minutes of frying.
  6. Next, add the powdered sugar and ground cardamom powder and mix all these well.
  7. When the mixture is cool to handle,make Ladoos

Another look at the mouth watering laddos offered to the Lord.

Besan Unde

Besan Unde

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Venkatesh Rao on September 4, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Woww !!!!
    I’m not sure I have the talent to do this …!!


  2. Posted by meeraghu on September 4, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Hi Venkatesh,
    If I can do it, you sure can as well.🙂


  3. Posted by Vijaya Rao on July 4, 2009 at 8:43 am


    My friend gave me ur site add and only today I started browsing it. This site is very useful.

    This Recipe looks very yummy, but can you give me the exact quantity of the ingredients….I want to try this out.


    Vijaya Rao


  4. Posted by meeraghu on July 4, 2009 at 10:40 am

    The exact quantity is in the ingredients list.


  5. Posted by Shubha on July 30, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Hi Meera,

    Thanks for all the yummy mom made receipies. I am so exited to see this and that too when I cannot call my mom and ask for one.


    Thanks, Shubha. Appreciate your comments.


  6. Posted by Shubha Satish on May 17, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Hi Meera,
    I was searching for a simple sweet and found this recipe.Last Friday,I prepared besan unde to celebrate 6 months of our marriage.I prepared it and it came out very well,even though it was my first time.I could no longer keep it a secret ,as my husband got a sweet smell ,when he came home!!He was very happy when he ate it ; that made me even more happier.The next day my brother visited and he also loved it.He asked me to pack a few for him.I showed your recipe and we share our happiness with you.
    A milion thanks from us!



    • Posted by meeraghu on May 17, 2010 at 11:07 am

      Hi Shubha,
      So nice of you to let me know. Thanks so much for sharing your happiness with me, so sweet of you.

      Thanks again. Appreciate your comment very much, Shubha.


  7. Posted by Sandhya Krishna on September 1, 2010 at 12:53 am

    Hi Meera,

    Nimma blog tumbaa useful especially nammantha beginners ge hats off to you.
    First time naanu Janmastami maadtaeddini, Nimma blog nanage tumba protsaaha kodutte.. Shloka nimmade vodkotini arhye bidodakke. Thanks a ton!!

    Could you also post Kodubale recipie??



Leave a Reply

