Swarna Gowri Vratha – Marada Bhagina

Some of you have sent queries asking what items need to be within the Marada Bhagina for the Gowri Vrata.  It is possible to get the above shown containers in Dollar stores or fancy item store. My Sister gives me the Bhagina every year. Like I have said many times, my In-Laws don’t have Swarna Gorwi Vrata. However, my Parents have it, and as a child I have seen my Mom perform this Vrata with utmost devotion.

So, listed below are the items to be put in the containers:

  1. Haldi Packet
  2. Kumkum Packet
  3. Gejje vastra
  4. Hoovu Bathi
  5. Adike – Betel Nuts
  6. Jaggery
  7. Sugar
  8. Rice
  9. All dals
  10. Salt
  11. Silk or any other texture Saree
  12. Blouse Piece
  13. Bangles
  14. Small Mirror, Comb
  15. Kobbari Battilu
  16. Rava
  17. Tamarind

The main goal of giving this bhagina is to make sure the lady who is receiving this is able to perform one days worth of Pooja and cook for a day as well with all the items given.


19 responses to this post.

  1. nice, so no longer use those “mora” but the baskets / boxes like these now? creative! and the boxes looks like Americanized🙂


  2. Posted by Srinivasa on September 15, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    ಬಾಗಿನ ಬಿಟ್ಟು ಬೇರೆ ಯಾವ ಉಡುಗೊರೆಗಳನ್ನು ಪರಸ್ಥಳದವರಿಗೆ ಕಳುಹಿಸಬಹುದು? ಉದಾ: ಬ್ಯಾಂಕ್‍ನವರು ಗೌರಿ ಹಬ್ಬದ ಉಡುಗೊರೆ ಎಂದು ಸ್ಕೀಮ್ ಮಾಡಿರುತ್ತಾರೆ.


  3. Posted by madhavi on September 16, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    as you know that ganesh chaturthi is falling on wednesday,can we bring the ganesh idol home on tuesday.can you please let me know on this .
    thank you


    • Posted by meeraghu on September 16, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      I think it should be Ok. However, I myself ask my parents or other elders about these kinds of information. So, please consult someone who knows more about traditions.


  4. Posted by madhavi on September 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    i already asked my parents and they said it would be better if you bring it on monday,still i am confused, anyway thankyou for response.


  5. Posted by Shruti on September 16, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks you Meera for this information🙂



  6. Posted by Bhanumathy on September 17, 2012 at 2:54 am

    Dear Meeraji
    Thanks for your mails and updates you are giving. Ganesha and Gowrima will always bless you and your family.


  7. Posted by Lakshmi on September 17, 2012 at 7:56 am

    I understand we should not give mora bagina to our own sisters or cousin sisters.


    • Posted by meeraghu on September 17, 2012 at 8:00 am

      Yes, someone outside your relatives. I would suggest someone who is actually deserving of getting some help. If you are in India, you can find many ladies like the wives of Poojaris, wives of cooks. They are in need of some help, and it would really benefit.


  8. Posted by pavani on September 5, 2013 at 7:48 am

    its really nice thanking u


  9. Posted by Shruthi on September 9, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    I think we should not give salt in bhagina.


  10. Posted by savitha on August 27, 2014 at 9:00 am

    Do you have any idea about makkal bhagina and what all goes in it?


  11. Posted by vina on September 16, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    The idea of giving plastic /steel utensils dates back to the early 1980’s , growing up in Bombay. My mom and relatives improvised on thi sisnce mora was not being used . it used to sit in the attic . More practical and when I see some of the dabbas even now when I am in Blore at my parents.
    Alos there is as song u sing whne give this with your pallu.


Leave a Reply

