Vegetable Puff

The last two weeks have been crazy busy. With work, festivals, daughters visit, it was two weeks I didn’t realize how it went by. Anyway, back to normal this weekend.

So, last Saturday Sneha was doing her homework, and my Husband and I were watching BNP Paribas Open. We are crazy tennis fans, especially me. It was cold, and we wanted to have something spicy and crunchy. I saw in the Fridge was Puff Pastry Dough. So, I immediately had this great idea to prepare Vegetable Puff. If you eat this Puff, you will not miss Bangalore.🙂

Quick, easy, and has no onion or garlic. So, I can say it is Madwa recipe no? Just kidding.


Anyway, below is the ingredient list and the recipe itself. Enjoy. More and more delicious posts coming this weekend.


  • 1 package Puff Pastry
  • 3 potatoes washed, boiled, and grated (yes, that’s the trick)
  • 1/4 cup frozen or fresh peas
  • 1 red and green capsicum finely chopped and microwaved
  • Green chillies to taste
  • Ginger to taste
  • Salt to taste
  • Few fresh coriander leaves
  • Oil, jeera, hing and mustard seeds
  • 2 tsp milk


  • Thaw the Puff Pastry as per directions.
  • Cut them to any size you like. Mine are all sizes and shapes.
  • Heat a pan, add oil. When it is hot, mustard seeds, jeera, hing, grated ginger, green chillies, peas, microwaved capsicum, and potatoes.
  • puff-palya
  • Add salt, and finally fresh coriander leaves.
  • Keep this aside until cool.
  • Now, fill the pastry sheets and shape them anyway you wish.
  • puff-pastry
  • Preheat the oven to 375-400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Brush milk on top of each puff to get the golden color.
  • Place these Puffs until golden brown.
  • Eat them as is, no need for anything.


P.S: Let me tell you a secret. In a few of those puffs I put Kissan Jam, thought it would be so yummy to eat Sweet and Savory. The ones filled with Jam overflowed the Oven and made a mess. Learnt a lesson not to try new tricks.🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you very much Meera, when I saw this Veg.puff picture, I felt as if I tasted that.
    I try that and let you know how it comes to me.


  2. Posted by meeraghu on March 23, 2013 at 9:21 am

    I wish I could invite you to my house.🙂


Leave a Reply

