Bitter Gourd Stir Fry

I am not used to having tons of Bitter Gourd in the Fridge. So, had to make something different. So, decided to experiment with Bitter Gourd Stir Fry. I had eaten this almost 13 years back when in Dubai. My friends at work shared this with me, and it was crunchy, bitter and salty. I just didn’t like it, but ate it by gulping water. I guess, every decade our taste buds change. No idea, but this recipe is going to be a keeper.


  • 3 Bitter Gourd washed and chopped in circles
  • For seasoning: Oil, mustard seeds, jeera, hing, haldi, curry leaves, and red chilli powder


  • Wash and chop the Bitter Gourd in circles. Remove the seeds

  • At this point, I microwaved the Bitter Gourd for 6-7 minutes until they were tender. hagalkayi-fry1

  • In a pan, add oil and when it is hot, mustard seeds, jeera, hing, turmeric powder and curry leaves.

  • Next, add the tender Bitter Gourd ,mix well.hagalkayi-fry2

  • Fry for a few minutes, and when they start turning crunchy add, red chilli powder and salt.hagalkayi-fry3

  • Lower the heat, and let the Bitter Gourd cook until crunchy.hagalkayi-fry4

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ujjwal on April 23, 2013 at 8:27 pm


    I also add bit of amchoor powder🙂


  2. Posted by Bhavana on April 24, 2013 at 12:05 am

    When do you add salt?


  3. Posted by Kavita on April 24, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Thanks for the recipe.
    I regularly prepare this with onion. Will definitely give this one a try as this one is without onion. I also add amchoor powder (green mango powder) for a bit sour taste. If not in stock, then I use chat masala😃


    • Posted by meeraghu on April 24, 2013 at 8:41 am

      Yes, I see many recipes online with onion. Like I said, I just wanted the bitterness taste.


  4. Posted by vidya s s on April 24, 2013 at 2:42 am

    amchur is dry mango powder.


  5. You can add tamarind paste or tamarind water with Bitter Gourd fry to take out sour from that..


Leave a Reply

