Sabhudani Vada – Gluten Free

fried-sabhudani-vada

I had eaten Sabhudani vada several decades ago. I always wanted to try the same, but for some reason stopped since the vada sucks up so much oil. A few weeks back, for my Daughters birthday which was on Ekadashi I wanted to prepare something which she and a couple of her friends and invitees could eat.

So, I decided to make Sabhudani Vada instead of Sabhudani Khichadi. I was a little bit scared to try this for the first time, but decided to try it anyway. And, anytime you hesitate something always goes wrong. Same thing happened here. I soaked the Sabhudani around 2.00 PM in the afternoon. Even at 6.00 PM a few minutes before the guests were supposed to arrive, the Sabhudani pearls were still hard. So, I put a whole lot of water and microwaved it for 3 minutes. This made the Sabhudani watery. So, made some changes and the Vada’s fried out perfect. So, here are the ingredients and the procedure for the same.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Sabhudani- Sago
  • 3 large potatoes – peeled, boiled and grated
  • 3 green chillies
  • 1/2 cup peanuts finely ground
  • 1 inch Ginger
  • 1 bunch corainder leaves
  • 10  curry leaves
  • Salt to taste and oil for frying
  • 1/2 cup Channa dal Powder (Besan)

Method:

  • Soak Sabhudani/Sago for 8-10 hours.
  • Grate the boiled potatoes
  • Mix all the ingredients along with Besan
    sabhudani-vada-dough
  • Make sure you can make patties. water your hands so the sabhudani doesn’t stick to your hands.
  • Deep fry in medium flame, and drain on paper towels
  • Serve immediately
  • As I was frying, the sabhudani vada was disappearing.
  • It was soft inside, crunchy outside.

fried-sabhudani-vada

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ritha Kulkarni on July 31, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    I make sabudana vada all the time…i add jeera seeds and because I do it usually for fasting I dont add besan…also I dont add ginger and coriander…instead I add curry leaves

    Reply

  2. Posted by theertha on August 1, 2013 at 1:07 am

    defenetely i will try this

    meeraghu posted: ” I had eaten Sabhudani vada several decades ago. I always wanted to try the same, but for some reason stopped since the vada sucks up so much oil. A few weeks back, for my Daughters birthday which was on Ekadashi I wanted to prepare something which she a”

    Reply

  3. I have only seen the Sabudana Vada in your blog. It looks mouthwatering. Please send them so that all of us will be able to taste it.

    Reply

  4. OK Come home soon and prepare the vadas. They look good and I am sure they will also feel good to eat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

