Cook with Love

Yesterday’s post was all about saying thank you to the one who put the food on the plate. Many of you commented, sent me emails and texted me. I am glad it really made an impact. For those of you who missed the post, it is here:

Today’s post is all about the person who puts the food on the plate. There is lot of debate going on as to who should cook? Should it be the Mom or the Dad? Should it be the Husband or the Wife? Should it be the Mother-in-law or the daughter-in-law?Why always Women have to cook? Why men shouldn’t cook? I have no answer, nor do I want to start or win this debate.

For me, cooking is an art, it is an act of love.Cooking is a privilege. Cooking can be done by both men and women.

I am grateful for the Almighty Lord that I have this passion for cooking and be able to cook for my loved ones. I pray to the Lord that I be born as Meera, and have the same opportunity to cook for my Family in all my future births( if there is one).

As a child, I always had an interest in cooking. I enjoyed seeing the happiness in my parents face when I cooked for them. I enjoyed seeing the joy on my siblings face when they relished my dish. I thought I was blessed when my in-laws were happy to see me cook for their Son. They were surprised that an Electronics Engineer was able to cook delicious food. I feel proud when my Husband tells his colleagues at work that the daily lunch he takes is prepared by me. I am equally happy when my daughter tells her friends about this blog, and she herself cooks a lot of recipe from there. I can go on and on. There is no end to the joy I get from cooking.

It is not just me who cooks. My husband and daughter also cook. Anytime I travel, he cooks for me. When my daughter was in elementary, middle and high school, it was him who packed her lunch all those years. When I was sick, had major surgery it was him who cooked for us breakfast, lunch and dinner for months. My daughter comes home for holidays, and cooks several meals.

So, you see a pattern here, right? It is not about who cooks on a daily basis. It is all about sharing the work. If you cook for your spouse, kids, in-laws, parents or relatives, consider it as a privilege that the Lord has given you to prepare food for them. If you consider it as a chore and do it with frustration, anger, it only gets worse. For once, change your attitude. Doesn’t matter whether you are employed or not, whether you are a man or a woman, son or a daughter, if you are cooking for your loved ones, you are lucky. You are feeding the hungry, and there is no act of godliness than feeding the hungry.

Some simple rules to follow:

  • Cook with Joy.
  • Cooke with Love.
  • Cook with a good mood.
  • Cook with passion.
  • Ask for help when you are tired.
  • Take help from the grocery store. For e.g: if you are unable to make chapathi or roti everyday, buy it from a store. If you cannot make some masala powders, buy it from a store.
  • Cook healthy food, talk to your kids about nutrition and eating healthy food.
  • When you cook healthy food, your kids learn from the same.
  • Whether you have a boy or a girl, teach them cooking.
  • Ask them to help you in the kitchen. Ask them to cut vegetables, involve them.
  • If they see you cooking with joy, they will learn the same.

Share your thoughts. Talk to your spouse, join hands and cook a meal together. See how much happiness it brings.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vani on January 31, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    Lovely posts and very true. Also, I want to compliment you on the way you have brought up your kid. Please share some motherly advice also in the future posts about instilling good values in them in our day to day life.
    It would be very helpful to me who do not have any surviving elders in the family. Thank you.


  2. Posted by Rekha on February 1, 2015 at 1:43 am

    wonder how you find time to give words your thoughts. have a nice day, Meera.


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 1, 2015 at 8:36 am

      Like I said, last few visits to India have been troubling. So, trying to help those who read the blog.


  3. Posted by shanthisethuraman on February 1, 2015 at 4:13 am

    Thanks for your advice – Cook with love. When we cook with love and we can sing/chant Bhagavan nama as ingredients to make the menu too tasty. If we sing/chant like that we can find spiritual taste with god’s blessings in our food. It is my experience,


  4. Posted by P B Srinivasa Rao on February 1, 2015 at 6:30 am

    Namaskara  I agree100% witj your write up  Thanking you  Your message should reach  all the concerned persons .P B S RAO


  5. Posted by R. Rao on February 1, 2015 at 11:06 am

    Loved the article.


  6. Posted by kavita on February 2, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    Totally agree with you Meeraji. Thanks a ton for such inspiring post.


  7. Posted by Kum on February 3, 2015 at 11:31 am


    Excellent post!

    During my recent visit to India, I also saw some friction between MIL and DIL.

    MIL wants the DIL to take bath and cook, while the DIL prefers to cook and then take bath…

    It is so complicated…

    I hope people read this amazing post!


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 3, 2015 at 11:45 am

      OH yes, Kum. Been seeing this for a long time now. The taking bath one made me laugh. Same story in many household.


  8. Posted by Shubha Satish on February 3, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Meera, I don’t know which post I have loved so much. Because your blog itself is excellent. It is the same with me. India trips are not pleasant, as we think. There is a clash everywhere and between everybody.The attitude has rocketed. In my opinion, both man & woman, irrespective of age, should learn to cook as well as work outside. While our Indian tradition and culture is good, it should be used carefully. I have seen some families where the daughters- in-law work outside, so the mother-in-law cooks. The DIL cooks in the weekend. While there are some people who insist that the DIL or the MIL do everything. And some men expect their wives to be superhuman or even supermom. And few more cases, it is the opposite of the latter.
    Regarding cooking & bathing, order changes with respect to working people, festivals and also weather.


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 3, 2015 at 3:07 pm

      Aww, Shubha. That’s such a wonderful comment. The recent visits are the reason for all these posts.
      I can say I have seen everything, and the more I see these clashes, the more I am clinging to my Husband and Daughter. The more I am saying Thanks to the Almighty for having given me such a wonderful family. Even if tomorrow I loose all the wealth, I will be very happy with my Husband and Daughter.


  9. Posted by Venkatesh on February 3, 2015 at 9:53 pm

    Thanks for a new perspective on cooking ,, cooking is preceded by preparation, planning & of course it is followed up by cleaning & that are equally important ,, dishes , table, putting things away ,, packing lunch box for the next morning ,, all these are equally important & are associated with Annadaata sukhibahva , in a supportive role ,

    If cooking is such a hard task ,, specifically for the Indian men , untrained by their mothers , fathers & grandmothers ,, they can pitch in easily in these related areas

    Cooking : It’s a vital aspect of life ,, one should pitch in whenever required ,,

    We have a convenient arrangement ,, she cooks ,, most days ,, I clean ,, whenever she cooks ,, & vice versa

    A very thoughtful write up Smt. Meera , Many thanks for your thoughts


Leave a Reply

