God Helps Those Who Help Themselves

I am humbled by the responses I received for the past two posts. If you missed them, below are the links for the same:

We all have gone through tough times in our lives. There isn’t any one family in this entire world which has everything come by easily. Many have issues with work, spouse, children, relatives, neighbors, health so on and so forth.

Many have the habit of blaming FATE. I have heard many say “This is my fate, maybe God wanted me to live like this, I will die like this.” This is the wrong attitude.

Swami Vivekananda said about Fate “”It is the coward and the fool who says, ‘This is fate'”– so says the Sanskrit proverb. But it is the strong man who stands up and says, “I will make my own fate”.

And Swami Vivekananda also said “Men generally lay all the blame of life on their fellowmen, or failing that, on God, or they conjure up a ghost, and say it is fate. Where is fate and who is fate? We reap what we sow. We are the makers of our own fate. None else has the blame, none has the praise. The wind is blowing; those vessels whose sails are unfurled catch it, and go forward on their way, but those who have their sails furled do not catch the wind. Is that the fault of the wind? “.

I can give several examples of my own life where things changed, I worked towards it and also trusted in God. Read this:

It was my first year here in United States, my very first job here, and having come from Dubai, UAE, and not being used to the accent here, even understanding what my colleagues said was a big hurdle. However, that was not the problem. Being a software engineer, I had to work with other people in my team. The one who was managing the project, was a master manipulator. Every time I talked to him about the tasks for the next week, he would write in his status report that he helped me for hours. I used to never ask him for help to complete any task, I was merely discussing with him the task to be completed that week.

Just by coincidence, one day I saw the status report he had written.It dawned on me that he was a master manipulator. I felt bad for a day or maybe two days. The next thing I did was to start changing the way I worked. I spent more time reading, writing several articles online, and changing the way I communicated with him. I did not sit back, and say this is my fate, God please come and help me. If I did that, I would not be what I am today. I made changes, looked back at how I can improve my communication skills, how I could improve my knowledge. Within few months of this change, this person was fired from the company for not doing his job properly, and completely manipulating the project.

I had sleepless nights yes, I worried yes, I maybe cried once or twice or maybe a few more times yes. But NO, I didn’t sit back and wait for God to change things. I prayed to God yes, however, I improved several of my skills , and there he was God helping me.

This might look to you as a small example, but it had a great impact on our lives here in this country. The confidence I gained, the trust I gained, the knowledge I gained has no bounds.

So, next time you see your Spouse, daughter, son, in-laws talk about Fate, stop them then and there. And remind them of the two phrases Swami Vivekananda has said and also the one and only “GOD HELPS THOSE WHO HELP THEMSELVES”.




14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lalitha on February 1, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    Very true. It all depends on your capability of handling the situations. Each individual has different problems and circumstances. Try to be brave and try to correct your mistakes and short comings. God (or whatever you believe in) will definitely help you succeed in life.
    It was nice talking to you Meera. Take care. –


  2. Namaskara. At right time, I got beautiful and thoughtful messages from you. My son and daughter, both being at US, myself and my wife were cursing our ‘FATE’! Now everything is gone and face the situation as it comes’ is the guidance given by my most revered Guru who is no more in this world. May Hari Vayu Gurugalu bless you ever for writing, writing, writing and guiding the devotees!


  3. Posted by Rekha on February 1, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    Inspiring Post, Meera.


  4. Very Nice One. I try to inculcate these in my daughter. But a phrase like this is so simple. Very easy to remind children to say before or after food. One another phrase that I would like to share with others is “vasudhaiva kutumbakam”. I put this up in our kitchen. The food that is cooked in this kitchen is keeping in mind the whole world as our family.


  5. Posted by shanthisethuraman on February 2, 2015 at 3:53 am

    Thanks for your message regarding the fate. Any fate can overcome by our knowledge. I am really proud of you that you are managing everything like that you should ask yourself, what is the task for next month? then you ask your team people about their task, then you conclude which task will be better? You collect the good points from all and make the task better. The person who thinks himself master of project will come forward and guide you, even other wise you can handle the whole show with god’s grace.


  6. Posted by Jamuna Srinivas on February 2, 2015 at 9:56 am

    A very nice and and strong message Meera specially for the second generation people here.


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 3, 2015 at 5:34 pm

      For all, Jamuna. This applies to our generation also, I have seen many who keep blaming fate, old and young alike.


  7. Wonderful piece of thought provoking article. It all lies in our attitude of approaching things. Change will happen only when we change. This message is not for younger generation but to everyone . Thank u meera.


Leave a Reply

