Cleanliness is Godliness

There is a saying which goes “Cleanliness is next to Godliness”. However, in my dictionary  and in my world and in Hinduism it is the other way around Cleanliness is Godliness. There are some basic things we can actually learn from Hinduism and follow them to make sure Cleanliness is indeed Godliness.

Cleanliness #1

The very basic thing we learn as kids from our parents is to take shower as soon as we wake up. That’s cleaning the body as well as the mind since after taking shower we go straight to the prayer room, light the lamp, sit and meditate.

No matter which part of the world I have lived, this morning ritual has been a part and parcel of my life. If I have to travel 2 hours and be at a client at 8.00 AM, I wake up at 4.30- 5.00 AM, take shower, go downstairs to my prayer room, light the lamps, recite all the stotras, do namaskaras and than have coffee.

There are many reasons people give me for not taking shower/bath in the morning. I try to educate them, and if I cannot I always use the phrase ” Where there is a will there is a way, where there is no will, there is a hill“.

Cleanliness #2

The next basic place where I have seen too many arguments going on is cleanliness while cooking food. I have talked a great deal about cooking. If you missed them, below are the links for the same:

Keeping your Kitchen, utensils and hands clean while cooking is equally important. Without which you will be creating a bad environment for the whole family. Make sure you clean you Kitchen, the gas stove and utensils after each and every meal. And this is indeed a must in our religion as well.

Cleanliness #3

We as Hindus have many rituals to follow. We follow some, we don’t follow a few others right? I have not seen a single soul in this entire world who is following all the rituals as noted down by the scriptures. Yes, there are religious people in the Muttas and other temples like great Swamijis who follow, but I am talking about people like you and me.

So, when we are ourselves at fault, don’t blame other people who are following a little bit less than what you are doing. I have seen this happens in many places which have caused severe fights between Mother-in-laws and Daughter-in-laws, between brothers, siblings, and even spouses.

Don’t ever criticize other people. Don’t ever point fingers. No one is perfect. This is where we all need Cleanliness of our minds. I have seen ladies performing great festivals like Vara MahaLakshmi Vrata and other festivals, and for few simple reasons criticizing their daughter-in-laws or mother-in-laws. You think Goddess Lakshmi is going to bless you when you hurt others feelings? Take a step back and don’t judge anyone’s faith just because they are not following exactly like you are.

For those of you who missed another post on this, read here:

Cleanliness #4

Just as important it is to keep your body and soul clean, it is also important to keep our thoughts clean. We all know the famous song by our Purandara Dasaru right? Acharavillada Nalige Ninna Nicha Buddiya Bidu Nalige. If you haven’t listened to it, listen here:

There is one and only one thing I can say here ” STOP GOSSIPING”. If you cannot say good things about a person, stay quiet or change the conversation. This is very important. We all say we believe in God, right? How can you say you are faithful to God, and gossip. The two don’t work together. If by stopping gossiping you have less friends, so be it. That is exactly the logic I follow.

Cleanliness #5

Keep your surroundings clean. I am amazed by how much our Prime Minister Modi is doing for cleaning our country. This is not a job of our Prime Minister, or Sachin Tendulkar or even Amir Khan. This is something which each and every one of us should participate in. So, make sure the surroundings around your house is clean. Talk to the person who is throwing the garbage outside. Make them realize it is wrong.

Let me tell you an incident which happened at my place here in USA. Our neighbor(not Indian or even American, you can guess by knowing that they are India’s neighbor as well :)) was throwing food items which we don’t consume( non-vegetarian) into our backyard. Because of the food, there were several eagles, crows, vultures and hawks surrounding our house everyday.  The person who does the lawn kept complaining that he was scared to go back because of all these birds. Sneha and I saw the lady throwing food every day in the night. I wanted to go talk to the neighbors and told Sneha not to tell her Father because he gets really upset, not realizing that he had already talked to the neighbor 3-4 times and warned them.

As we were walking during the summer, the neighbor couple crossed our path. My Husband stopped them, told them politely that he had given them several warnings not to throw food in our backyard, it was getting ugly day by day, had recorded video of the lady throwing food, and would give the video to the police if she continued throwing food in our backyard. The husband turned to his wife and asked her why she was throwing  food in our backyard, she responded by saying that she wanted the food to be eaten by birds so on and so forth, making many many excuses. That was last, from that day onwards there is no food in our backyard, nor are there dangerous birds.

The point I am making is, sometimes you need to confront people and ask them to clean up. It is our responsibility. And like they say, when nice words aren’t enough, दण्डं दशगुणं भवेत्” Dandam Dashagunam Bhavet. Doesn’t mean you have to beat up someone ten times,right? In our case talking to them and making them realize we care for our backyard was  helpful in our case. And most importantly telling them we had proof and were willing to give it to the police was the trick.

Cleanliness #6

Last but not the least, teach your kids cleanliness. I owe it all to my parents. My Mom was clean freak. I learned everything from them. So, be a role model for your kids. Don’t just say things, do it and show to your kids. A post about being a role model follows sooon.

Until than, remember “Cleanliness is Godliness”. Share your thoughts about what it means to you about being clean.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sirisha on February 11, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    Meera ji.. Can’t agree any less on each and every word you put up here. My respect is growing leaps and bounds each passing post. I do a self introspection whenever I read such posts and I believe good reads help us become better persons. Your blog is one such ideal spot for me. God bless you !


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 11, 2015 at 7:18 pm

      I read your comment several times. Each time it brought a huge smile on my face. I always said if I can make one person think, introspect, I would feel happy.
      This is how I changed many of my mistakes and behavior. It has definitely made me a better person.


  2. Posted by Veda on February 11, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    Hi Meera

    Thanks for spreading good thoughts derived from Hinduism. I am writing this to you to just let you know you are changing many people’s thoughts and please continue the good job.
    Though I am not a strict follower of all the aacharas I really do follow the ideology behind those. I always use this phrase at home ‘Cleanliness in next to Godliness’ which I read it in our moral science lessons long back in schools and its been my favourite since then. I am very bad in convincing my ideas to others so I just use your blog to check myself.
    I totally agree with all that you have mentioned and it helps me think if my mind is clean and I frankly think I need to work on it little more. I also like the other topic of yours- ‘Cook with Love”. Its so true….

    Thanks again


    • Posted by meeraghu on February 12, 2015 at 8:25 am

      Thats so nice, Veda. I read yours and many other comments to my family. Unbelievable was the words they used.


  3. Posted by Venkatesh on February 11, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    Meera avare ,, namaskAragaLu

    Each of your posts is better than the previous ones ,, and I agree with every point you make ,, hopefully ,, some people start thinking about cleanliness in their hearts , as much as their surroundings.

    Harboring ill-will towards others , be it spouse , sibling or anybody else in the society does more damage to oneself than it harms the others ,, hurtful thoughts in our hearts or mind leads to negative words, negative behavior , negative attitude ,, in other words ,, each step in the process lowers our standing in the journey of life .. The only loser is us . All puje’s are pointless then. Correct ??

    A thought provoking writeup ,, appreciate your kindness in sharing your experiences ,,

    best regards



  4. Posted by Srinivasan K on February 11, 2015 at 10:33 pm



  5. Posted by Priya, Bangalore on February 11, 2015 at 10:50 pm

    Excellent post ! You are really a role model for many of us…


  6. Posted by shanthisethuraman on February 12, 2015 at 12:52 am

    Thank you for sharing about cleanliness. There is one proverb “Cleanliness is next to Godliness. If we keep clean not only our home but also our mind, we can find happiness from all people like friends/relatives. How best we clean our home/pooja room our heart will also get pureness it will create harmony in our home. In this regard, the cleanliness will differ from one person to another it depends how their parents who taught/trained their children. When compare with my husband, my cleanliness is not up to his level. He is used to scolding me that my parents had not trained me well in my childhood.


  7. Posted by aarti on February 12, 2015 at 9:52 am

    Very nice post.. I enjoy reading all your posts.. You are very inspiring, energetic and a true role-model for all of us.. Keep up the good work ..
    I am amazed on how you balance work, cooking and also performing all the festivals with so much devotion.. I am one of them who is similar situation away from homeland but trying to manage my family with 3 yr old kid, work and trying to follow festivals so that next generation can learn.. Seeing your posts I really get a lot of inspiration and ideas.. “Cleanliness” post is a great write-up!!..



    • Posted by meeraghu on February 12, 2015 at 10:14 am

      Thanks,Aarti. This is a comment I will cherish forever. And knowing that there are so many for whom I am a role model, makes me work even more hard to be a better person day in and day out.


  8. Posted by Nagabhushan on February 13, 2015 at 1:09 am



    1. Plastic abuse- dirtying earth
    2. Time Abuse-spend time in front of TV for seeing good for nothing serials dirtying mind.


    education, action and plan to counter each of them


  9. Posted by kamala on February 18, 2015 at 10:26 am

    Hello Madam, please tell me what all stotras u recite everyday


  10. Posted by Asha on March 5, 2015 at 12:18 pm

    Hello Meera avare,
    I have visited your site and read many many articles innumerable times. Thanks so much for all the details you put in your postings. Being a Kannadiga, I completely align with your thoughts and nostalgia.
    Each post of yours has sincere message that is appealing and makes 100% sense to one and all. Thanks for sharing.


  11. Posted by Usha on April 12, 2015 at 5:14 pm

    Hello Meera,

    You’re a role model to me!! Whenever I feel lonely in our suburban area due to lack of hustle and bustle like we have in our native place, I read and re-read your posts and it works like a magic , it lifts me up and I am back to my original self again!! I can’t thank you enough!!


    • Posted by meeraghu on April 13, 2015 at 9:08 am

      So kind of you, Usha. Glad this blogs helps, and remember we all go through that phase, being lonely, unable to concentrate. So, you are not alone.


Leave a Reply

