Women in Cyber Security

Last week, Friday and Saturday I attended and spoke at the Women in Cyber Security Conference (WiCyS). The Conference took place in Atlanta, USA on March 27th and 28th. The main goals of the conference was:

  • Security professionals worldwide are expected to increase to nearly 4.2 million by 2015.
  • Women’s representation in this male-dominated field of security is alarmingly low.
  • WiCyS expects to raise awareness about the importance and nature of cyber security career .
  • Hopes to generate interest among students to consider cyber security as a viable and promising career option.

All of the keynote speakers were women in top positions in Cyber Security.

  • Jenn Lesser Henley, Facebook
  • Sherri Ramsay, CyberPoint
  • Phyllis Schneck, Department of Homeland Security
  • Angela Kay, Microsoft

I gave a Technical Presentation on “Know Your Enemy, and Yourself: Demystifying Threat Modeling”.

I was amazed to see so many women and young college girls attend the conference. This being just the second year of the conference there were 500 security professionals who attended. It was an interesting mix of students, professors and security professionals who attended.

I thought as this blog is growing, what a great idea it would be if you all as a Mother, Father, Husband, Sister could help your daughter, son, wife or sister to join this amazing profession. I am glad I was able to find the Job which is my passion, I work like crazy, never complain, except for the traffic when I go to work.

If you have anyone who is interested to join this profession, either here in the United States or in Bangalore, India leave a comment and send me your resume.

Yes, you read it correct. My Company Cigital has a branch in Bangalore, India.

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vani on April 4, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    Truly amazing. Meera, I’m from data warehousing backround(Informatica, SQL server, Oracle). If this is something that would fit the bill in terms of analysis/reporting part, I’m in
    Please do let me know if I could send in the resume.


  2. thi is a good and positive approach welcoem friend


  3. Posted by Sumathi on April 5, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Hi Meera,I am Sumathi, a Bangalorean. But i live in Dubai right now with my husband’s dependent visa. very much interested to take up a job in Cyber security field. I am Arts Graduate with MBA in Human resources worked with HP company as Sales support Coordinator till 2010. I have the zeal,courage and enthusiam to excel in your field of Cyber security.
    Please let me know if i could be accomodated anywhere….If yes, where do i send my resume.


  4. Posted by Vani on April 5, 2015 at 9:58 am

    I want to move back to the US this year. Yes, I do have development backround, but have not been active on it in a long time as I shifted gears to backend.


    • Posted by meeraghu on April 6, 2015 at 11:31 am

      You should start taking a few classes to keep updated on Software development. I am guessing many such classes for Java, .NET are conducted in Bangalore. That would be a great investment when you move to the US.


  5. Posted by triveni yadav on April 6, 2015 at 1:35 am

    Hello Meera, you are the true hard worker, I go through your blog regularly, and I am proud, that I am a part of this blog, please find attached resume of my sisters and I am into accounts please let me know is there anything thanksTriveni


  6. Posted by Pushpa S Desai on April 6, 2015 at 10:42 am

    I am placed in Pune and though I dont have a software background, the way you have briefed, it indeed sounds quite interesting. Thanks for sharing this knowledge.
    Do let me know if I can be a part of this.


  7. Posted by Mamatha on April 6, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    Hello Meera,

    I am in US (CA). Right now working as QA, but I know SQL/PLSQL, VB, C++. Please let me know to which email I should send my resume.


    • Posted by meeraghu on April 7, 2015 at 8:22 am

      I have sent you an email. Please send me your additional details and resume there.


  8. Posted by H. Sethu Rao on April 8, 2015 at 6:44 am

    Dear Madam, My daughter is completing B.E (C.S) by June-15 end. (Cloud computing is her final year project) Can she apply as fresh candidate to Bangalore Branch / US. If so please send, office mail Id or can she send to your good self.
    Thk.for open invitation.


  9. Posted by Shree on April 9, 2015 at 9:16 am

    Hello Meera,
    I am a QA Analyst living in Columbus OH. I am interested in the above job and would like to get more info. Please advise me.
    Thanks and Regards,


  10. Posted by Shree on April 9, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Hello Meera,
    I have no experience in development. Although I have used VB script and SQL to test applications.


  11. Posted by Ashutosh Sharnjay B on April 30, 2015 at 1:53 am

    Would like to know the exact age, educational background & experience if required to enter this profession. Would appreciate and be glad to receive mail from you in this regard.
    Ashutosh sharnjay B


  12. Posted by Deeptha Parsi Diwakar on June 7, 2015 at 1:56 pm

    Hello Meera,
    I am student at the University of Texas at Dallas, pursuing my Masters in Computer Science with specialization in Information Security.
    Currently I am interning at Intel Security (McAfee) as an SDET.

    I am extremely interested to work in the field of Cyber Security and also very passionate about it. This opportunity sounds very exciting, kindly let me know how I can contact you. Looking forward for a response from you.


  13. Posted by Asha on June 26, 2015 at 10:46 am

    Hello Meera avare, I have software development background and reside in US, really interested in this field and looking for an opening. Can you please send me your contact details, I would like to know more. Thank you


Leave a Reply

