The Power of Positive Attitude

Last month when I wrote about my health, Ms. Sweta wrote the following comment in my blog:

Hello Madam,

This is such an optimistic post. Must admit that I am not surprised to see how brave you are. Even in your past blog posts you have mentioned how you overcame most chronic pains by God’s grace and will power . It is very inspirational that you are looking at this positively.

Many of you wrote to me saying that my post about my health was heartbreaking but also very optimistic, and many of you even wondered how I could be so positive.

I kept wondering myself ” When did Meera change so much?”.

Just like everyone else, I was also a  negative person a few years back. Anything went wrong, the blame used to always go straight to God and our Beloved Rayaru. I used to blame everyone around me, just like most of us do. I used to also go to the extent of even blaming the Country I lived on many occasions. I am literally laughing as I am typing this. I used to be the most wonderful person at work, and as soon as I entered home everything changed. I used to keep grumbling for everything.

After we moved here to US, a few, not really,  many things changed around me. A few scary incidents(mostly health related) deeply changed the way I looked at life in general. Seeing how unhappy everyone is, I promised to myself I am going to change the way I live. I want to be the person who everyone remembers with a smile on their face. I wanted to be the person who spreads joy to anyone I come across.

I realized I could make a difference in this world, even if it meant for 1 person.

Here are some things I do on a regular basis to keep my positive attitude and be optimistic.

  1. Be happy by choice. No one in this world has everything they need. Our needs are never ever fulfilled. I just try to be happy with what I have. I can keep crying over things which could have and didn’t happen, but I choose to ignore and forget those incidents after a day, and just move forward.
  2. Good, Bad or Ugly Keep Positive Attitude I always attribute it to something which is going to make me strong. One clear example was my sickness last month. For weeks, I didn’t know what was wrong. It could have been anything. I kept thinking everyday, even if it is something serious, I do have a Would be Doctor in the family, a loving and caring husband, parents and siblings  who cared for me, extended family who prayed for me,  the best insurance and above all 100% faith in our Beloved Rayaru.  This positive attitude kept me going for 99% of the time. There was of course days when I cried out of pain, and was steering towards negative thoughts, but got back on track very quickly.
  3. Share happiness. I have heard many people always complaining and never ever say they are happy. When you are happy and smiling, you spread the Joy to others. When you are always complaining, no one ever wants to even talk to you.
  4. Be inspired and inspire other people. I am not saying this to boast about myself, but I am one of the sought out Mentors at my company. Even before anyone goes to the HR department, the HR Manager was telling me she tells everyone ” Meera is not available as your Mentor”. Whether it is work, home or anywhere else, I love inspiring women in general and men as well to push themselves to do great things, and achieve success in life. I am inspired by many great people in my life.
  5. Believe in yourself. Swami Vivekananda Said “You cannot believe in God until you believe in yourself.This is key, no matter what you are doing, where you are working, you should be able to believe in yourself and your abilities. Also, believe in others.
  6. Always look for solutions. I keep telling everyone who works for me, don’t come to me with problems only, come also with 1 or 2 solutions. These solutions might not be the one I am looking for, I at least know you tried solving the problem. Same in everyday life, always look for solutions. If you build this approach, rather than dwelling on problems, you will be looking for solutions.
  7. Last but not the least, DON’T GOSSIP. This is something which bothers me a lot. If you cannot talk to a person about the issue you have, don’t say that to anyone else. I will never tolerate when someone is saying things to me behind someone’s back, I retaliate, I know this makes me a bad person, but I don’t care. The more you gossip, the more you keep worrying about who might go and tell whom, and it becomes a vicious circle. Think not once but twice before you speak.

I just thought of sharing my thoughts, share what you do in your everyday life to stay Positive. How do you remain Optimistic? How do you stop when you see people gossip? How do you solve problems?

28 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Pushpa Desai on November 5, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    Amazing Meera. In simple words, you have given the medicine to stay positive and healthy. Your blog is like an apple a day keeps negative thoughts away.


  2. Posted by Kreng Jai on November 6, 2015 at 12:03 am

    Very inspiring I am goin to Re-blog it. Have a great weekend and happy Deepawali in advance Meera.😊🌸


  3. Posted by Deshpande Pandurang on November 6, 2015 at 12:22 am

    Ohh…… great thoughts……….Tumba Dhanyavadagalu….


  4. Posted by Divya joshi on November 6, 2015 at 12:51 am

    Hi meera mam. Thanks for the post. I am a very happy women with a beautiful girl and loving husband. I always want to keep everyone happy. My problem is with my husband’s family. I respect them a lot and do a lot of things for them. They will be happy for that day. But from the next day they will be unhappy. Always I will call them message them but I won’t get any correct response. They won’t even care their son. But they need money what he earned. All the thing in their home fridge washing machine phones tv etc all are bought by my husband itself. But not one day my MIL gave a little jar of pickle also to us. Whatever they do I will always keep smiling and respecting them. Maybe one day they will know the importance of son and daughter in law… Other than that just positive vibes all around….


    • Posted by meeraghu on November 6, 2015 at 7:08 am

      Yes, they will realize. If not also, always think you are doing this for your Husbands Mom. She gave birth to your Husband. And we cannot ever repay that.


  5. Posted by vasihnavi on November 6, 2015 at 1:39 am

    thanks mam for this article.


  6. Posted by Madhukar Konanur on November 6, 2015 at 2:18 am

    As given by a Master – alway apply the formula to every situation in Life – Becomes very simple and does not allow you to go into negativity.



  7. Posted by Vidya jitendran on November 6, 2015 at 2:20 am

    Hello mam,namaskara ..I dono how I missed ur last month’s post..Take care of ur health.. Loved ur post and I too almost follow the ways which u told ..I too faced so many health problems for 5to7yrs and now by the grace of our beloved gurugalu I am fine..I too diverted myself when I was sick and never let anyone my difficulties to others . Thank God for giving me lovely husb and parents who took a great care of me when I was ill


  8. Posted by shanthisethuraman on November 6, 2015 at 4:33 am

    Thanks for sharing the Power of Positive attitude topic, in which you had shared your experience. Over all I like the point :Believe in yourself. Swami Vivekananda Said “You cannot believe in God until you believe in yourself.” This is key, no matter what you are doing, where you are working, you should be able to believe in yourself and your abilities. Also, believe in others.
    The faith and ability one should have in their life. When you believe you God, it will lead to believe ourselves. The God who gives his strength to believe him and us. Similarly when we our believes gets reduced on God, we will not believe ourselves as we did before. What I want to say, without expecting anything from God, we should keep worshiping God at any moment. How we are charging our mobile phone daily, like that we should keep doing something to Rayuru(Chanting, Bajans, and Archana……) it will keep our mind fully charged like battery and keep us happy. Only when we have believe on God, it will move automatically believe ourselves .


  9. Posted by raginiyraju on November 6, 2015 at 8:07 am

    Very Wellsaid Meera avare,

    This is the right article for people like me.

    Thanks for writing such an inspiring article cause I am sure many of us might be going through the phase where you were in early years.

    Thanks again



  10. Posted by Usha Achar on November 6, 2015 at 9:15 am

    Greetings Meera ji, Hope you are doing well..
    This was the first post I read this morning..?.I too am a strong beliver in Power of Prayer..and Sri Rayaru ..After reading your note , i felt this was the most needed for me at this hour as i am going through health issues and some personal problems..
    Thankyou and may Sri Rayaru bestow you with good health
    Look forward to reading your forthcoming inspiring articles here


  11. Posted by Shweta on November 6, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Thanks so much for making this in to a post , Madam.

    Found myself profusely nodding to all the points. Like you I think my thinking process changed after moving to the US.

    And one thing that keeps me optimistic is faith in Lord. Without love or faith in God life is so meaningless. Like Guru Shankaracharya says’ Oh Mother Goddess, one cannot have the virtue of worshipping unless you bestow them with devotion for you with your kind grace ‘. So I feel very thankful and positive that the kind lord has blessed me with devotion for him.

    And whenever I feel sad I immediately start recollecting how blessed I am. Thanks to God I am born as a human , I have food to eat, my sense organs work, I am blessed with roof on top of my head, warm clothes to wear. All these are certainly privileges which so many people don’t have. So I am certainly thankful to God for them.

    And most importantly I thank God with my every heartbeat for gifting me with a family filled with loving people. As long as they are healthy and happy, every other problem is secondary. This helps me always stay positive.

    Also reading such positive posts by you, definitely reinforces the optimism within us.

    So thank you so much for your posts , for the nth time:-)


  12. Posted by Shwetha on November 6, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    I wish you a good health. I just read the article about positive attitude , it’s really wonderful I liked the last one. It’s always true that the people who thinks that they are always right, which they aren’t they are going to gossip.


  13. Posted by vijayaa108 on November 8, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    Namaskar Meera!
    I was about to Put off the computer when I saw the title of your post and yes it is indeed a very simple but powerful reminder for all of us to stay positive though certain circumstances can make it very very difficult.
    Yet,however difficult the path be,we have to continue …
    Thank you and with good wishes to you,family and friends and readers-


  14. Posted by sharada on November 15, 2015 at 9:24 am

    Meera avre, Hare Srinivasa. Just know read about your health and article on positive attitude. How is health now. Hope you have recovered completely. Take care of ur health.

    Liked your post very much. It is really wonderful. I am also strong believer of god, prayer and kaliyuga daiva Sri Rayaru. I too have suffered many health problems that too with major ailments. Now by the grace of our beloved rayaru i have been able to overcome all. He has bestowed his blessings on me, at all times of adversities. Always given me enough strength to tide with the problem. For any difficult situation or problem i pray rayaru to show me the way and miraculously i have come out with solution every time. It only reinforces to say that rayaru will not let his bhaktadi to suffer.

    I am fortunate to have caring family members who have helped me to stay strong. I Thank God for giving me lovely husband and other family members who took a great care of me when I was ill


    • Posted by meeraghu on November 15, 2015 at 11:03 am

      Sharada, I am fully recovered. Yes, having a supportive family members always helps. And to have utmost faith on our Beloved Rayaru!


Leave a Reply

