Maha Shivaratri – 7th March 2016

shiva_Pooja

Maha Shivaratri is celebrated on Monday 7th March 2016. It is mandatory to visit the temple and seek the blessings of Lord Shiva during this day. In many customs they do fast on this day, but in our Madhwa tradition it is a festival and we do not fast. I remember visiting the Shiva Temple at Vijaya College in Bijapur which had 1001 Lingas along with my parents every year.

Attached below are prayers to say for Lord Shiva and seek his blessings.


Vandhe Sambhum Umaapathim Suragurum
Vandhe Jagath Kaaranam
Vandhe Pannaga Bhooshanam Mrigadharam
Vandhe Pasoonaam Pathim
Vandhe Soorya Sasaanga Vahnni Nayanam
Vandhe Mukundha Priyam
Vandhe Baktha Janaasryam Cha
Varadham Vandhe Sivam Sankaram

Meaning:

I bow to Sambu the Lord of Uma and the teacher of the Devas. I bow to the Lord Who is the root cause of the entire world. I bow to the Lord, Who has the serpent as His ornament, Who carries a deer. I bow to the Lord of all beings. I bow to the Lord Who has the Sun, the Moon and the Fire as His three eyes. I bow to Him Who is fond of Mukundha. I bow to Him, Who is the refuge of all devotees and Who grants boons to them. I bow to Siva, the creator of all auspicious things.

This blog has an entire page dedicated to Lord Shiva. Check the link below to find 20 lyrics on Lord Shiva:

13 responses to this post.

  1. Good sloka. Thanks

    Just a small typo : 20th Feb is a Monday.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vidya on February 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    please correct the Name of the day i,e Monday

    Reply

  3. Ee jagame eswaramayam

    Reply

  4. Posted by Srinath on March 9, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Mahadeva Shambho Shiva – Sri Purandaradasara Pada

    Reply

  5. Posted by vidyavenu on September 16, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Dear meera,
    Is it true that we should not have more than one vigraha of same god or goddesses.could you reply when you get a chance
    Thanks in advance

    Reply

    • Posted by meeraghu on September 16, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      Really? I had no clue. Let me count how many I have, 4 ganesha idols( 1 gold, 3 silver), 2 Goddess Lakshmi Idols, 4 Krishna idols, 4 Venkateshwara idols. Many people have given me these idols, so I kept all of them.

      Let me check and keep you posted.

      Reply

      • Posted by Ritha Kulkarni on February 11, 2015 at 10:17 pm

        Even I was told that in your main temple (devara mantapa) you should not have more than one vigraha of the same deity. You can have them anywhere around the house it keep them in a box in the prayer room and tagger then out for pooja on special occasions.

      • Posted by meeraghu on February 12, 2015 at 8:26 am

        No idea.

      • Posted by Ritha Kulkarni on February 11, 2015 at 10:18 pm

        Even I was told that in your main temple (devara mantapa) you should not have more than one vigraha of the same deity. You can have them anywhere around the house it keep them in a box in the prayer room and take them out for pooja on special occasions.

  6. Posted by H. Sethu Rao on February 14, 2015 at 6:41 am

    Maha Shivaratri, We can chant Hari Kathamrutha Sara -32nd-Devatha Taarathamya Sandhi- 10 to 13- Nandivahana NalaniDhara—- to — Hathu kalpadi lavaNa jaladhiyolu.
    It was said by Ex- Sree Suvidhyandra Thirtharu.(SRS Mutt) to me. Iam chanting every day, my all problems solved. As Shivaraatri special, chanting this will be good. I wish every one Happy Shivaraatri.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

