Chanda Kochhar’s letter to her daughter

Every time I talk to my Mom, she tells me some interesting articles she has read, a great recipe she saw on TV, or many times miracles of our beloved Rayaru. Today when I talked to her, she mentioned about a letter a Mom had written to her Daughter in a Kannada newspaper. I told her”Mom, it will be all over internet and I will read it”. And yes, the letter was posted by Ms. Melinda Gates on Facebook. I called back my Mom and told her I read the letter. I re-posted the same to my daughter, women colleagues at work, my whatsapp groups. I also read it loud to my Husband.

I have heard so many women tell me how hard it is to work, how hard it is to survive in this Male dominated society, how women pull down women at work and at home. Have I seen these things happen to me, YES. I have also seen this happen to my Mom, my Sister, my colleagues. As working women, we have gone through many challenges ourselves. We go through challenges everyday. But, most working women have a loving and caring family which makes it worth all the trouble we take at home and at work.

The letter Mrs. Chanda has written resonates so very well with all working women.

Read the letter, and share your thoughts.

The entire letter can be read from this link:

Chanda Kochhar’s Letter to her Daughter

Some quotes from her letter is posted below:

I believe in fate but I also believe that hard work and diligence plays a very important role in our lives. In a larger sense, we all write our own destiny. Take destiny in your own hands, dream of what you want to achieve, and write it in your own way. As you go ahead in life, I want you to climb the path to success one step at a time. Aim for the sky, but move slowly, enjoying every step along the way. It is all those little steps that make the journey complete.

As you go forward, you will sometimes have to take difficult decisions, decisions that others might scorn at. But you must have the courage to stand up for what you believe in. Make sure you have that conviction to do what you know is right, and once you have it, don’t let skeptics distract you from your path.

8 responses to this post.

  1. True description! My daughter is an example. All the hurdles she crossed and finished her Residency course. With great Rayar’s blessings, she is employed in the same university hospital where she did Residency!


  2. Posted by KG Venkatesh on April 17, 2016 at 2:05 am

    Yes Madam hard work and sincerity always takes us greater heights in all walks of life then automatically god also us help us . When you do wok there is always all sorts of obstacles for this we have stand up and fight without leaving any thing for granted .Regarding male dominated society as on Engineer worked for reputed organisation for nearly thirty eight years believe me I never ill treated any woman folk at any level because I strongly believed and have strong conviction that all are equal in society and top of that I brought up like that for that I always thankful to parents .


  3. Thanks for sharing the letter it. In the letter the line which impressed me was
    Remember that good times and bad times will be part of your life equally, and you have to learn to handle both with equanimity. Make the most of life’s opportunities and learn from every opportunity, and challenge that life brings along.


  4. Posted by Jamuna Srinivas on April 18, 2016 at 10:45 am

    Excellent reading! and a very inspiring letter to all of us. Thanks for sharing Meera.


Leave a Reply

