South Indian Vegetarian Low Carb Diet

This post may come as a surprise for many of you. If you have been constantly reading my posts, you know very well I am very health conscious. And knowing that, you might be even more surprised to see this term “Low Carb Diet“.

It has been several years since I shyed away from eating white rice on a daily basis. I made rice maybe once a week. And during this day, when I made rice, I made sure we had delicious rubbida huli or Sambar, spicy saru or Rasam, a whole lot of fried Happala and Sandige. As you read that last sentence, your mouth started watering, right?

Told you, I ate this one day guilt free. Always reminding everyone we ate rice just 1 day a week. All other days, my cooking would be Avalakki, Upma, Chapathi, Dosa slightly healthy with brown rice, Idli and above all chapathi. So, even though we didn’t eat rice, the calories we consumed were way too high. And not to forget Sabhudana Khicahdi. Every Thursday night without fail.

Hmm, now you get it right? No rice, but all these other items still kept us full of high calories. And I kept complaining that even though I walked almost close to 5-6 miles and sometimes close to 7 miles, the scale didn’t budge. The weight kept creeping up slowly pound by pound.

Even though the weight kept adding, I have to thank God, the detailed medical checkup I had during my last visit for my Tietze syndrome showed no health issues.

However, it kept bugging me like crazy why my weight was not reducing. And one day after talking to my Would be Doctor Daughter, she said” Mom, stop being an Indian Vegetarian, become an American Vegetarian”. I asked her what she meant, she said Stop eating all those breakfast items you eat, and start eating Oatmeal. Do you know even the chapathi you eat has so many calories, and it is filled with carbs.

Her words kept ringing in my ear, and finally on April 18th I decided I am going to stop eating any carbs at all. It has been exactly 10 days, I have not touched rice, no chapathi, no dosa, no idli, no bread nothing.

It is not easy being a vegetarian, eating south Indian food to go on most diets you see online. We have to build our own meals, and our own plan. And that’s exactly what I am planning on doing.

So, now you may ask what do I eat? Remember all the dals, palyas, nucchina unde and kosambaris. That’s what I eat. It has been exactly 10 days, I have lost a few pounds nothing significant. I had a slight headache for 2 days, but it is gone now as well. I plan my meals, prepare well ahead. It is expensive, it is laborious, but worth every dollar and every pound I loose.

My husband also started this journey with me. He however eats 1 or 2 small chapathis. But, no rice. He accompanies me in long walks, exercise. We are in this together. Towards a healthy tomorrow, and low carb diet with loads of dals, legumes, vegetables, and fruits.

I will start posting more and more food items with low carbs. If you want to lead a healthy living, if you wish to reduce your cholesterol levels, if you wish to reduce your blood pressure, If you wish to loose some pounds, come join us in our journey. we will go through this journey together. Share our recipes, share our thoughts, share our frustrations when the scale doesn’t budge.🙂

P.S: If you really have chronic illness, please consult your Doctor.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vidya on April 28, 2016 at 5:34 pm

    Love your thought, yes I tried this too, I substituted rice with broken wheat for rasam and sambhar . Helped me atleast not to gain and stay stable. Enjoy!


  2. Posted by Prerana on April 28, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks for the interesting post. I’m struggling with my weight and want to try this. But curious how do your get protein into your diet?


  3. Posted by Aparna on April 28, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    I have ever been using broken wheat as a substitute for rice but love to get some recipes .


  4. Posted by krishnarao srinivasan nil on April 28, 2016 at 8:45 pm

    Can you post the receipes at the ealiest which will be helpful for all. Thank you.


    • Posted by meeraghu on April 28, 2016 at 8:51 pm

      Yes, definitely. In between work, I am taking pictures of my plate and trying to collect them so I can post at least during weekends.


  5. LCHF is the new revolution to kill obeisity and to be free from diabetis drugs. Low Carbohydrate High Fat diet. Dr. Bernstein, an insulin dependent diabetic has been drug free for the last 60 years with LCHF diet. He exploded the myth that fat is the contributor of high cholestrol and obeisity and proved and inspired many to cut carbohydrate to 100 grams per day and supplement with high fat and protein diet. The entire drug industry is scared that it will lose millions of dollars once this LCHF concept catches up.


  6. Please go through if you are obese/diabetic.


  7. Posted by krismaly on April 29, 2016 at 12:37 am


    Breakfast: Cook Steel Cut Oats previous night. Take two serving spoons (Soutu) of SCO and add few berries 1 strawberry 4 raspberry 4 Blackberry 4 blueberry little milk and honey. Add 1 tbl spof Chia seeds (Overnight rinsed) plus 1 tbl sp Fax Seed powder or seeds

    Lunch: 1 to 2 serving spoons (soutu) of Cooked Brown Rice or Broken Wheat or Quinoa (while cooking these add Tor dall, Urad dal, black beans red beans one tablespoon)
    Add plenty of sauteed vegetables (don’t forget color bell peppers)

    Dinner: Make green juice containing Spinach Kale Asparagas Broccoli Cauliflower celery green apple pear pineaple papaya walnuts Almonds carrots Termeric root ginger root Flax seed Chia seed
    Ensure 1 or 2 cubes of ice and grind all the above ingredients
    Drink one glass only

    Avoid: Pizza, ice cream, chips, crackers, candies, bread

    I just scribbled what I eat


  8. You can eat as much as you need to get energy. Dump your stomach with fruits and vegetables. If you take more food/calories, you will have to burn the calories by exercises (Walking, Running, Jagging, Skipping), Whatever food/veg/fruits it should be limited quantity. You will get immunity only when you take good diet in sufficient interval.


Leave a Reply

