South Indian Vegetarian Low Carb Diet – Our Progress

It has been almost a month since we started the low carb diet. I wrote in great detail why I wanted to go on this diet. You can read all about it here:

We have continued the diet, have not eaten Rice or any rice items. No Upma, No Avalakki, No Dosa, No Idli or No Chapathi(just me). And No Akki Roti  or Sabudhana Khichadi which we love.😉

Initially for a day or two, I used to have slight headache, now even that has gone away.

We threw away all the bread, Pizza dough, all the potatoes we had. We visited my Daughter for Mothers day, but didn’t visit any restaurant. I am surprised how we always combine any celebration with food or going to a fancy restaurant. I told my daughter instead I wanted to go hiking, and we went on a hike and walked almost 7 miles.

It has been easy doing this diet since even my Husband stopped eating any rice or rice products. I make or sometimes he himself makes 1 or 2 chapathis.

So, if you wish to do this diet, make sure you have a buddy who is willing to do this with you. You definitely need a support system.

I still make all the south Indian dishes, Rasam, Sambar, Vegetables, Khadi, Yogurt, Raitas, lots of Kosambaris.

Yesterday, since it was Pushya Nakshatra if it was my normal diet, I would have made a sweet dish. However, yesterday I made Nucchina Unde, Kosambari, Majjige Huli or Khadi. No sweet dish, instead recited Rayaru’s name a couple more times.

It has also been easy doing this diet since I have not traveled anywhere. Starting next week, I am going to travel again until almost end of July. I hope to continue doing this diet.

I have more energy, sleep better, and am happy losing weight. I have no portion sizes, I eat as much as I want. Since I am eating lots of fruits and vegetables and whole grains, I feel full soon. I should warn that this diet is expensive, since you need to buy lots and lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains and pulses.

The one fruit which we have not eaten is Banana. The one vegetable we have not eaten is Potato. Other than that, all fruits and vegetables can be consumed. We have not skipped breakfast even for a single day, and breakfast has been oats every single day.

Share with me your experiences.

P.S: If you really have chronic illness, please consult your Doctor.

8 responses to this post.

  1. हरि र्सवोतम् ! वायु जिवोतम् !!
    Sri Lakshmi Narsimha Swamy sankeerthanam Govindha ! Govindha!!
    Sri Lakshmi Narasimha, Vara Lakshmi Narasimha !
    Jaya Lakshmi Narasimha , Jaya Narasimha !!
    Sri Lakshmi Narsimha Swamy sankeerthanam Govindha ! Govindha!!
    20.05.’16 Friday — Narasimha Jayanth.
    23.05.’16 Monday — Yearadu Garuda Sevai
    24.05.’16 Tuseday — Eka Dhina Laksharchani in Mandali. & Kalyana Utsava.
    27.05.’16 Friday — Thiru Ther ( Car Festival )
    Temple FIVE STORY RAJAGOPURAM Work is in Fast Progress. Please donate liberally and get the blessing of Sri Lakshmi narasimha swamy.
    Note : All feclities accomadation ( including western Toilet) available in Mandali building on FREE OF COST. NO CHARGES
    All the Uthsavasas are owned by Upayadharar. NO BODY IS AUTHORISED TO COLLECT ANY DONATIONS IN CASH OR KIND.
    “INDIA’S Number One Universal On line Matrimonial Service exclusively for MADHWA Brahmins.( Estd : 2009 )
    1900+ Alliances settled since from inception
    Organiser : Srimushnam K.NAGARAJAN.
    To register,Bride/Bridegroom in our successful centre, send your e-mail ID by SMS To Mob : 09444469340 or by mail
    to .


  2. Posted by Jamuna on May 18, 2016 at 9:09 am

    You are so great Meera. your low carb meals are very inspiring


  3. Posted by Roopa on May 19, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    Really inspired by the diet … Me too being a South Indian kannadiga living here in Singapore would like to follow this diet but due to travelling now to India next mth school holidays … But would come back and follow this diet for sure , just wanted to know whether any milk products like yogurt & tea can be taken … I can understd its not easy to follow any diet, hats off to you … And a big big thank you to you for sharing your wonderful recipes & inspiring diet …🙏🏻🙏🏻😃 Roopa


    • Posted by meeraghu on May 20, 2016 at 8:28 am

      I have not stopped any milk products. I do have coffee in the morning, and tea in the evening with milk. Of course, low fat. Same with Yogurt, low fat. I have eaten quite a lot of raita since the diet.


  4. Posted by Jagdish Kalkunte on June 21, 2016 at 2:19 pm

    you seem to have made the work even harder for a person who has no motivation. I am not sure why you and your husband had to go this length. Congratulations!!


    • Posted by meeraghu on June 21, 2016 at 2:21 pm

      We had to do this to be healthy stay healthy and be there for at least the next few years hail and healthy for our one and only Daughter/Doctor!


  5. hi which yoghurt would you prefer to consider please do share


Leave a Reply

