Prayer by Sree Appanacharya

dsc_7793

As I was browsing through FB, I found this amazing link which gave a complete day to day activities  of our Beloved Rayaru  in the greatest detail as written by Sree Appanacharya who resided with Rayaru for several decades. This is one of the Prayers Sree Appanacharyaru used to recite. The very first time I read the Stotra and the meaning, I had tears rolling down my eyes. I couldn’t wait to share it with you all devotees of Rayaru.

Below is the Stotra in Kannada and Baraha English. You can copy and paste in Baraha and translate to any language of your choice.

ಸ್ವಾಮಿರಾಜ ಪ್ರಭೊ ರಾಮಚಂದ್ರ ಪ್ರಭೊ
ರಾಘವೇಂದ್ರ ಪ್ರಭೊ ಪಾಹಿಮಾಂ ರಕ್ಷಮಾಮೇಹಿ
ಮಾಂ ಯಾಹಿ ಮಾಂ ಸರ್ವದಾ ಸರ್ವದೇಶೇಷು
ಸರ್ವಪ್ರಕಾರೇಣ ಸರ್ವೇಷ್ಟಸಿದ್ಧರ್ಥ್ಯಮತ್ಯಂತ
ಮಾರ್ದ್ರೇಣ ಚಿತ್ತೇನ ಸಂಸೇವಮಾನಂ

ಸದಾಬಾಲಬಾಲೋಪಮಾನಂ ತವ
ಶ್ರೀಪಾದಂಭೋಜದಾಸಾನುದಾಸಂ ಸದಾ ಪಾಹಿ
ಮಾಂ ಪಾಹಿ ಜೀಯಾದ್ಭವಾನಸ್ತು ಮೆ ಶ್ರೀಃ ಸದಾ
ನಮಸ್ತೇ ನಮಸ್ತೇ ವಚಸ್ತೇ ಶಿರಸ್ತೇ ಕರಸ್ತೇ
ಯಶಸ್ತೇ ನಮಸ್ತೇ ನಮಸ್ತೇ ನಮಃ

swAmirAja prabho rAmachaMdra prabho
rAghavEMdra prabho pAhimAM rakShamAmEhi
mAM yAhi mAM sarvadA sarvadEshEShu
sarvaprakArENa sarvEShTasiddharthyamatyaMta
mArdrENa cittEna saMsEvamAnaM

sadAbAlabAlOpamAnaM tava
SreepAdaMbhOjadAsAnudAsaM sadA pAhi
mAM pAhi jIyAdbhavAnastu me SreeH sadA
namastE namastE vachastE shirastE karastE
yashastE namastE namastE namaH

The meaning of the stotra goes like this:

O king of Sanyasis, O Ramachandra’s worshipper, O Raghavendra Guru, protect me

Please do reside within me, please do get me to your place. Protect me in all ways, all worlds, and always. I am praying to you to fulfill my smallest desires, I am the smallest among small being. I am the follower of your lotus feet, please protect me.

Victory be yours. May I be protected by your grace. I salute to you. I salute to you once again. I salute to your granthas. I salute to you who prays to Lord Hari.  I salute to your hands which worshiped Lord Hari, and composed and studied Guru Madhwacharya’s granthas.

I salute to you who is praised by one and all in this world. I salute to you, I salute to you once again.

I tried my best getting the message out, if you know Sanskrit, please do correct the meaning. Hope you all recite this amazing stotra to get the blessings of our beloved Rayaru.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Good translation. Congrats.
    K.LAKSHMAN.

    Reply

  2. “‘हरि र्सवोतम् ! Sri Gurubhyo Namaha: वायु जिवोतम् !!”
    EKADASI UPDATE
    Please note that ekadasi is on 27th sept. 26th Dasami harivasara at 9 pm and hence one should complete their dinner by 9pm. There is a print mistake in Tamil panchanga on ekadasi and hence request all to spread this message to people who use uthradhi mut tamil panchanga.—-
    Thanks to Pandit Sri Praveenachar Hungund- Matadhikari Utradhimut, Triplicane,Chennai -5.& Pandit Sri Anandhatheerthachar Simaligi, Matadhikari,Manampoondi, Tirukoilur.Tamil Nadu for their timely information.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    VIVAHA MARRIAGE INFORMATION CENTRE, ULLAGARAM, CHENNAI,91
    “Universal On line Matrimonial Service exclusively only for MADHWA Brahmans.(Estd.in 2009)”By the Grace of Almighty and Divine blessing of Gurugalu 1900+ Alliances settled so far since from Inception.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    PLEASE SHARE WITH YOUR FRIENDS AND RELATIVES.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Organiser : Srimushnam K.NAGARAJAN.
    To register,Bride/Bridegroom in our successful center, send your e-mail ID by SMS To Mob : 09444469340 or by mail
    to

    Reply

  3. Posted by H M Bharathesh on September 25, 2016 at 10:43 pm

    Very delightful stotra for singing as Prarthana Thanks.

    Reply

  4. Thank you for the Prayer by Sree Appanacharya, it was so nice to read the English meaning. I am very kind of you, these lines were inspired me very much/ Please do reside within me, please do get me to your place. Protect me in all ways, all worlds, and allways. I am praying to you to fulfill my smallest desires, I am the smallest among small being. I am the follower of your lotus feet, please protect me.
    Guruvey Saranam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

