Rava Dosa

ravadosa

We all have eaten crunchy, paper like rava dosa. There are several posts on the web for Rava dosa. I changed the recipe for rava dosa quite a bit. Tried this twice at home and each time it was a super hit. So, here comes the recipe for Rava dosa. I was and am tired of eating Oats for breakfast every single day. So, this Sunday, it was Rava Dosa for a change. I see all recipes using All purpose Flour or Maida. I didn’t use it as you see in the ingredients list. It was crispy, it was delicious. This is a recipe for ages now.

Just a quick note, we don’t get super fine Rava here at least at my Indian grocery stores. I had brought a kilo of this from my last trip to India. Since there was some leftover batter, I made 2 dosas in the night also. It was still perfect. 

Ingredients:

  1. 1 cup super fine Rava
  2. 1/4 cup rice flour –
  3. 4 tsp urad dal flour
  4. 1/4 cup yogurt
  5. salt to taste
  6. 1 tsp baking powder

Method:

  • Sieve Rava, rice flour and urad dal flour
  • Add it to a bowl, mix salt and yogurt.
  • Now add water and make sure it is of running consistency.
  • Just before preparing dosa, I added baking powder. For the millionth time, I have no idea when to use baking soda vs powder. I always use them interchangeably. ravadosabatter
  • Now heat a Griddle or Tava and make dosa. Don’t spread the batter like you do for normal dosa. The thinner the batter, the crisp the dosa gets. ravadosaontava
  • We ate with Chatni Powder. Plain and simple. ravadosa
6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vathsala Lakshman on September 26, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    My mouth is watering,even as I see pictures of the RAVA DOSA prepared by you.But today being EKADASHI, I have to curb my urge and postpone my experimenting with the recipe to a later day! Greetings for NAVARATHRI and DEEPAVALI. K.LAKSHMAN.

    On Mon, Sep 26, 2016 at 10:22 PM, Kalpavriksha Kamadhenu wrote:

    > [image: Boxbe] =?UTF-8?B? > S2FscGF2cmlrc2hhIEthbWFkaGVudQ==?= (comment-reply@wordpress.com) is not > on your Guest List > > | Approve sender > > | Approve domain > > > meeraghu posted: ” We all have eaten crunchy, paper like rava dosa. There > are several posts on the web for Rava dosa. I changed the recipe for rava > dosa quite a bit. Tried this twice at home and each time it was a super > hit. So, here comes the recipe for Rava dosa. I wa” >

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jamuna on September 26, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    All time favorite! Thanks Meera!

    Reply

  3. Thank very much for making Rava dosa. Please let me know without adding Baking Soda, it will not come out well.I will not use baking soda in my cooking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

