Archive for December 12th, 2016

Sprouted Green Gram Dosa

img_6998

It has been months since I prepared dosa. I wanted to make the most healthiest dosa and what better way than to use Sprouted Green Gram or Hesara Kalu.

I kept the batter for a week and it didn’t turn sour, came out perfect every time. I ate just 1 dosa each day. 🙂

To know how to best sprout green gram, read this post from a while ago.

Ingredients:

  1. 3 cups sprouted green gram – Hesara Kalu
  2. 1/4 cup urad dal
  3. 1/2 cup channa dal
  4. 3 tsp Methi seeds
  5. 1/4 cup Brown rice
  6. Salt to taste
  7. Oil for preparing dosa

img_6997

Method:

  • Wash and Soak all the ingredients  from 2-5 in water for 5-6 hours.
  • I soak them before I go to work, around 7.00 AM in the morning.
  • In the evening, grind the soaked ingredients in two batches with little water.
  • I used my wet grinder and the batter was super smooth.
  • Make sure the batter is very fine. Add salt to taste.
  • I make dosas in the night without the batter being fermented. Make dosas as you do always. No change here
  • Leave it outside so it ferments for making dosa the next day.
  • Use very little oil, I usually use Olive Oil for making my Dosas.
  • Enjoy with Chatni, or Saagu, or Potato Palya.

Link for other Dosas, Chutney and Saagu can be found here:

