Maavinahannu Seekarane or Mango Rasayana

mavinahannu seekarane

Yet another wonderful dish you get to eat during summer. Mangoes are everywhere during summer. There are many varieties prepared from raw and also ripe mangoes. In many houses, Mango Rasayana or seekarane as it is called is prepared as a side dish to eat with either chapathis or pooris.

This week you are seeing many food posts, that is because I am home for a week after finishing a project in Boston. This sunday, I will again be flying to San Francisco for another 4 weeks. So, I wasted no time and prepared several dishes which were favorite to my Husband and my daughter. So, here is how to make this wonderful sweet dish with Mangoes.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe Mangoes
  • 2 Bananas
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 4 cardamoms
  • 6 tsp sugar – I used Splenda

Method:

Wash the Mangoes. Cut the mangoes on the sides avoiding the seeds. I blended all the ingredients together. If not, you can chop them finely. In most of my relatives house, they squeeze the mangoes. And they don’t use bananas either. I varied this just a little bit.

Put them in a bowl, add finely chooped Bananas also.

To this add milk, sugar and ground cardamom. As I said, I blended all of them together to a fine paste, chilled them and served with Pooris and Cauliflower Palya.

If you don’t like it, just mix all the ingredients and refrigerate and serve them.

Take another look at the yummy Mango Seekarane.

Mango Rasayana

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by V Gopal on August 12, 2021 at 11:21 am

    I tried to open the link for Akki kadakabele payasam, but it is showing sreekarane. Can you kindly link the relevant page? Other pages are linked correctly. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Posted by BRUNDA SHIVU on October 30, 2012 at 3:08 am

    ALONG WITH BANANA JACK FRUIT IS A GREAT COMBO WITH MANGO PLEASE TRY

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nirmala Rao on March 25, 2011 at 2:46 am

    In Mumbai, this is served in the local chaat-house with seedless grapes (black and green) sliced in half, instead of banana. Yummy.

    Reply

  4. My grandmother always made it by squeezing the ripened mango until the introduction of the blender/mixer during the early 1980s – years after the demise of our grandmother. Squeezing the pulp always left behind some bigger pieces of the mango. The blender/ mixer useage gives a very smooth, uniform seekarne. Sometimes we could also add a dash of coconut gratings – giving it a slightly different taste – although I personally did not relish it much.

    Madhukar, that’s how my Ajji also made seekarne. Thanks for the coconut tip.

    Reply

  5. Also goes well with akki rotti or just like that – licking the spoon and the bowl clean – (as I used to during the younger days 🙂 )

    Reply

Leave a comment